Monday, April 23, 2012

2012 WGC Screenwriting Awards – winners

The Writers Guild of Canada held the 16th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards ceremony tonight at Maro in Toronto. The event was hosted by comedian Ryan Belleville.

The award for Movies and Miniseries went to John A: Birth of a Country by Bruce M. Smith. It had been up against Take This Waltz by Sarah Polley and Afghan Luke by Patrick Graham, Douglas Bell, Mike Clattenburg and Barrie Dunn.

The WGC Award for Documentary was presented to Waking the Green Tiger, A Green Movement Rises in China by Gary Marcuse.

The TV Drama Award went to the Flashpoint episode written by Larry Bambrick called “Shockwave”. Among his competition were three other episodes of Flashpoint. Craig David Wallace picked up the TV COmedy Award for Todd and the Book of Pure Evil.

The WGC Showrunners Award was given to Mark McKinney for Less Than Kind.

Nominees for the 2012 WGC Screenwriting Awards


Complete list of winners for the 16th Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards

Scaredy Squirrel “Nothing But the Tooth” • Written by Darrin Rose

Children and Youth
My Babysitter’s a Vampire “ReVamped” • Written by Alice Prodanou

Waking the Green Tiger, A Green Movement Rises in China • Written by Gary Marcuse

Movies and Miniseries
John A: Birth of a Country • Written by Bruce M. Smith

Shorts and Web Series
Murdoch Mysteries: The Curse of the Lost Pharaohs “The Vanished Corpse” • Written by Patrick Tarr

TV Comedy
Todd and the Book of Pure Evil “A Farewell to Curtis’ Arm” • Written by Craig David Wallace

TV Drama
Flashpoint “Shockwave” • Written by Larry Bambrick

u>Alex Barris Mentorship Award
Barbara Samuels

WGC Writers Block Award
Charles Lazer

WGC Showrunners' Award
Mark McKinney, Less Than Kind

No comments:

Post a Comment