Thursday, January 12, 2012

2012 USC Libraries Scripter Award - finalists

The Friends of the USC Libraries have announced their finalists for the 24th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award. The Scripter Award is given for writers of film adaptations to both the screenwriter(s) and originating author(s).

This year's finalists are A Dangerous MethodThe DescendantsJane EyreMoneyball and Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

Aaron Sorkin is nominated as co-screenwriter of Moneyball. He was the winner of last year with author Ben Mezrich for The Social Network. His Moneyball co-writer Steve Zaillian is a past winner for Awakenings, while nominees Alexander Payne, Christopher Hampton, and John le Carré are previous finalists.

Canadian-born screenwriter, producer and director Paul Haggis has been announced as the recipient of the 2012 Scripter Literary Achievement Award in recognition of his contributions to the art of film adaptation. He is the only screenwriter to ever write screenplays for two consecutive Best Picture Oscar-winners (Crash and Million Dollar Baby) and was in the running for a third consecutive year with Letters From Iwo Jima.

The 24th Annual USC Libraries Scripter Award will be held on Saturday, February 18, 2012 in the Times Reference Room of USC's Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library.


Complete list of nominees for the 24th-annual USC Libraries Scripter Award 

A Dangerous Method: screenwriter Christopher Hampton, adapted from John Kerr's book "A Most Dangerous Method: The Story of Jung, Freud, and Sabina Spielrein" and Hampton's 2002 stage play "The Talking Cure"

The Descendants: screenwriters Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, and Jim Rash, adapted from Kaui Hart Hemmings' novel

Jane Eyre: screenwriter Moira Buffini, adapted from the 1847 Charlotte Bronte book

Moneyball: screenwriters Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin and Stan Chervin, based on Michael Lewis' "Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game"

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy: screenwriters Bridget O'Connor and Peter Straughan, based on John le Carre's book.

No comments:

Post a Comment