Saturday, February 25, 2012

2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards - winners

Film Independent presented their 27th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards, or Indie Spirit Awards, today at Saturday afternoon on the Santa Monica beach. The event was hosted by Canadian actor Seth Rogen.

Michel Hazanavicius' The Artist dominated the awards with its four wins. It won Best Feature, Director, Actor (Jean Dujardin) and Cinematography. Most of the team from The Artist didn't make it in time since their flight was delayed from France where they had just triumphed at the César Awards. Jean Dujardin's brother Mark was there to accept on his behalf but went out for a smoke break during the surprisingly early awarding of Best Actor. Penelope Ann Miller accepted on Jean's behalf before Mark finally came in a couple of minutes too late. Michel Hazanavicius received a police escort to the show and arrived just five minutes before he was announced as winner of Best Director.

The Artist had led with five nominations along with Jeff Nichols' Take ShelterTake Shelter's only win of the night was the Piaget Producers Award which went to producer Sophia Lin.

Steve James' gritty The Interrupters won for Best Documentary, against An African Election, Bill Cunningham New York, We Were Here and The Redemption of General Butt Naked. None of the Indie Spirit documentary nominees were nominated for an Oscar.

The only films other than The Artist to win multiple awards were Margin Call and The Descendants. Alexancer Payne's win for Best Screenplay for The Descendants (along with Nat Faxon and Jim Rash) makes him 5 for 5 at the Spirit Awards. In defeating Tom McCarthy, he handed him his first ever loss as McCarthy had until now been 3 for 3.

Asghar Farhadi's A Separation, won the Foreign Film award over Melancholia, Shame, The Kid With a Bike and Tyrannosaur. He gave an acceptance speech in his native Farsi which received much applause.

Patricia Clarkson gave a tribute to the late Bingham Ray, saying "This man was an independent film. Thank you Bingham, wish you were here."

The 27th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards ceremony will be broadcast by IFC at 10 p.m. PST/EST.

Complete nominees for the 27th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards


Complete list of winners for the 27th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards

Best Feature (Award given to the Producer)
The Artist - Thomas Langmann, Emmanuel Montamat

Best Director
Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist

Best First Feature (Award given to the director and producer)
Margin Call - Director: J.C. Chandor; Producers: Robert Ogden Barnum, Michael Benaroya, Neal Dodson, Joe Jenckes, Corey Moosa, Zachary Quinto

John Cassavetes Award
(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000; award given to the writer, director, and producer)
Pariah - Writer/Director: Dee Rees; Producer: Nekisa Cooper

Best Screenplay
Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon & Jim Rash, The Descendants

Best First Screenplay
Will Reiser, 50/50

Best Female Lead
Michelle Williams, My Week With Marilyn

Best Male Lead
Jean Dujardin, The Artist

Best Supporting Female
Shailenne Woodley, The Descendants

Best Supporting Male
Christopher Plummer, Beginners

Best Cinematography
Guillaume Schiffman, The Artist

Best Documentary (Award given to the director)
Steve James, The Interrupters

Best Foreign Film (Award given to the director)
Asghar Farhadi, A Separation

Robert Altman Award
(Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
Margin Call - Director: J.C. Chandor; Casting Directors: Tiffany Little Canfield, Bernard Telsey; Cast: Kevin Spacey, Paul Bettany, Jeremy Irons, Zachary Quinto, Penn Badgley, Simon Baker, Mary McDonnell, Demi Moore, Stanley Tucci, Aasif Mandvi, Ashley Williams

Piaget Producers Award
Sophia Lin (Take Shelter)

Someone to Watch Award
Mark Jackson (Without)

Truer Than Fiction Award
Where Soldiers Come From

Giorgio Armani Directing Fellowship
Grace Lee

No comments:

Post a Comment