Friday, February 24, 2012

2012 César du cinéma winners

L'Académie des arts et techniques du cinéma in France held the ceremony for the 37th Annual César du cinéma tonight at the at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris. The event was hosted by actor Guillaume Canet and presented by master of ceremonies Antoine de Caunes.

Michel Hazanavicius' The Artist continued its seeming unstoppability with 6 Césars. It won for Best Film, Director, Actress (Bérénice Béjo), Cinematography, Production Design and Music. Interestingly, Jean Dujardin did not win Best Actor but was edged out by Omar Sy for Intouchables (Untouchable). It was that film's only win.

Maïwenn's Polisse had led the field with 13 nominations. Its only wins were for Editing and for Most Promising Actress in which Neyda Yadri tied with Clotilde Hesme from Angèle et Tony (Angèle and Tony).

Pierre Schoeller's L'exercice de l'État (The Minister) picked up three awards for Best Supporting Actor (Michel Blanc), Original Screenplay and Sound.

Canadian director Denis Villeneuve was competing in the Foreign Film category with his Oscar-nominated Incendies but lost to Asghar Farhadi's A Separation.

British actress Kate Winslet was presented with an Honorary César by Michel Gondry who stepped in for her Carnage director Roman Polanski.

Complete nominations for the 37th Annual César du cinéma


Complete list of winners for the 37th Annual César du cinéma

Best Film
The Artist produced by Thomas Langmann, directed by Michel Hazanavicius

Best Debut
Le cochon de Gaza (When Pigs Have Wings) directed by Sylvain Estibal

Best Director
Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist

Best Actor
Omar Sy in Intouchables

Best Supporting Actor
Michel Blanc in L'exercice de l'État (The Minister)

Most Promising Actor
Grégory Gadebois in Angèle et Tony (Angèle and Tony)

Best Actress
Bérénice Béjo in The Artist

Best Supporting Actress
Carmen Maura in Les femmes du 6e étage

Most Promising Actress TIE
Neyda Yadri in Polisse
Clotilde Hesme in Angèle et Tony (Angèle and Tony)

Best Foreign Film
A Separation directed by Asghar Farhadi

Best Original Screenplay
Pierre Schoeller for L'exercice de l'État (The Minister)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Yamina Reza, Roman Polanski for Carnage

Best Cinematography
Guillaume Schiffman for The Artist

Best Editing
Laure Gardette, Yann Dedet for Polisse

Best Production Design
Laurence Bennett for The Artist

Best Costume Design
Anaïs Romand for L'Apollonide, souvenirs de la maison close (House of Tolerance)

Best Music Written for a Film
Ludovic Bource for The Artist

Best Sound
Olivier Hespel, Julie Brenta, Jean-Pierre Laforce for L'exercice de l'État (The Minister)

Best Documentary
Tous au Larzac (Leader-Sheep) directed by Michael Radford

Best Short Film
L'accordeur (The Piano Tuner) directed by Olivier Treiner

Best Animated Feature
Le Chat du rabbin (The Rabbi's Cat) directed by Joann Sfar, Antoine Delesvaux

Honorary César
Kate Winslet


  1. I cant understand why Jean Dujardin didnt win, especially as he is winning so many awards on an international level

  2. It is surprising Dujardin didn't win, but Intouchables was a huge hit in France and will soon surpass Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis (Welcome to the Sticks) to become the top-grossing French film of all time.

  3. Oh I didnt know that. Also it was probably their only way to award that film.