Monday, March 19, 2012

Polskich Nagród Filmowych Orły 2012 - Eagle Awards for Polish film - winners

The Polska Akademia Filmowa (Polish Film Academy) held the awards ceremony today for their 14th Polskich Nagród Filmowych Orły (Eagle Awards). The ceremony was originally scheduled for Monday, March 5 but was cancelled as a result of a national period mourning after a train crash at Szczekocin killed 16 people and wounded 57.

The surprise winner of the evening was Wojtek Smarzowski's Róża (Rose). It claimed a total of seven awards – they were Best Film, Director, Screenplay, Actress (Agata Kulesza) and Supporting Actor (Jacek Braciak), Sound and the Audience Award.

Agnieszka Holland's Oscar-nominated Holocaust-themed W ciemności (In Darkness) had led with ten nominations. It managed three wins for Cinematography, Supporting Actress (Kinga Preis) and Actor (Robert Więckiewicz). Kinga Preis had been also nominated for her Supporting Actress work in Róża (Rose).

Jan Komasa's Best Film nominee Sala Samobójców (Suicide Room) came away with two awards: Editing and the Discovery of the Year prize for director Jan Komasa. Młyn i krzyż (The Mill and the Cross) also claimed two awards for Art Direction and Costume Design.

Yet again, the Best European Film went to last year's Oscar-winner The King's Speech. It bested Lars von Trier's Melancholia and Thomas Alfredson's Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

A Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to writer/director Janusz Majewski.

Nominations for the Polskich Nagród Filmowych Orły 2012


Complete list of winners for the Polskich Nagród Filmowych Orły 2012

Best European Film
The King's Speech (Jak zostać królem) - Tom Hooper

Best Editing
Bartosz Pietras - Sala Samobójców (Suicide Room)

Best Sound
Jacek Hamela, Katarzyna Dzida - Hamela - Róża (Rose)

Best Art Direction
Katarzyna Sobańska, Marcel Sławiński - Młyn i krzyż (The Mill and the Cross)

Discovery of the Year
Jan Komasa - Sala Samobójców (Suicide Room)

Best Cinematography
Jolanta Dylewska - W ciemności (In Darkness)

Best Costume Design
Dorota Roqueplo - Młyn i krzyż (The Mill and the Cross)

Best Supporting Actress
Kinga Preis - W ciemności (In Darkness)

Best Supporting Actor
Jacek Braciak - Róża (Rose)

Best Original Score
Michał Lorenc - Czarny czwartek. Janek Wiśniewski padł (Black Thursday)

Best Screenplay
Michał Szczerbic - Róża (Rose)

Best Actor
Robert Więckiewicz - W ciemności (In Darkness)

Best Actress
Agata Kulesza - Róża (Rose)

Best Director
Wojtek Smarzowski - Róża (Rose)

Best Film
Róża (Rose)

Audience Award
Róża (Rose)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Janusz Majewski

No comments:

Post a Comment