Sunday, February 5, 2012

39th Annie Awards - winners

The Hollywood branch of the Association Internationale du Film d’Animation (International Animated Film Society), ASIFA-Hollywood held its 39th Annual Annie Awards ceremony at UCLA's Royce Hall, in Los Angeles, CA. The evening was hosted by comedian/actor Patton Oswalt.

The big winner on the night was Gore Verbinski's Rango. It won a total of five trophies including the top prize Best Animated Feature Award. It also won for Writing, Character Design, Editing, and the new Members' Favorite Award voted on by the entire ASIFA-Hollywood membership, including student and affiliate members.

The only other multiple award-winners were the double prizes for Steven Spielberg's The Adventures of Tintin (Music, Animated Effects) and Jennifer Yuh Nelson's Kung Fu Panda 2 (Direction, Production Design). In addition, the television spinoff Kung Fu Panda - Secrets of the Masters won for Special Production. Kung Fu Panda 2 had led the nominations with twelve, and is both the first major animated feature directed by a woman and the highest-grossing film ever directed by a woman.

In the television section, Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice won four awards while The Simpsons continues to be strong with three wins for the major categories of Best General Audience Animated TV Production, Directing and Writing.

Walt Peregoy, Borge Ring and the late Ronald Searle were honoured with the Winsor McCay Award in recognition for career contributions to the art of animation. Art Leonardi recieved the June Foray Award for significant and benevolent contributions to the art and industry of animation.

ASIFA-Hollywood has had a troubled history recently with block voting tactics leading to yearly awards sweeps by Dreamworks Animation, which resulted in the withdrawal of Disney/Pixar. This is the first Annie Awards ceremony after a recent overhaul that brought Disney back into the organization. The changes would seem to have had the desired effect, with eight different films winning prizes and no easy domination by Dreamworks. While Kung Fu Panda 2 is by Dreamworks, Rango and The Adventures of Tintin are from Paramount. The main films from Dreamworks (Puss in Boots) and Pixar (Cars 2) were completely shut out.

39th Annual Annie Awards nominees


Complete list of winners for the 39th Annual Annie Awards

Best Animated Feature

Best Animated Short Subject
Adam and Dog, Minkyu Lee

Best General Audience Animated TV Production
The Simpsons

Best Animated Television Production for Children
The Amazing World of Gumball

Best Animated Television Production for Pre-school Children
Disney Jake and the Never Land Pirates

Best Animated Special Production
Kung Fu Panda - Secrets of the Masters

Best Animated Television Commercial
Twinings "Sea," Psyop

Best Animated Video Game
Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet

Member's Favorite Award


Directing in a Feature Production
Jennifer Yuh Nelson, Kung Fu Panda 2

Writing in a Feature Production
John Logan, Gore Verbinski and James Byrkit, Rango

Character Design in a Feature Production
Mark "Crash" McCreery, Rango

Editing in a Feature Production
Craig Wood, Rango

Storyboarding in a Feature Production
Jeremy Spears, Winnie the Pooh

Music in a Feature Production
John Williams, The Adventures of Tintin

Animated Effects in an Animated Production
Kevin Romond, The Adventures of Tintin

Animated Effects in a Live-Action Production
Florent Andorra, Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Character Animation in a Live Action Production
Eric Reynolds, Rise of the Planet of the Apes

Character Animation in a Feature Production
Jeff Gabor, Rio

Production Design in a Feature Production
Raymond Zibach, Kung Fu Panda 2

Voice Acting in a Feature Production
Bill Nighy, Arthur Christmas

Directing in a Television Production
Matthew Natsuk, The Simpsons

Writing in a Television Production
Carolyn Omine, The Simpsons: Treehouse of Horror XXII

Character Design in a Television Production
Bill Schwab, Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice

Editing in a Television Production
Ted Machold, Jeff Adams, Doug Tiano and Bob Tomlinson, The Penguins of Madagascar

Storyboarding in a Television Production
Brian Kesinger, Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice

Music in a Television Production
Grace Potter and Michael Giacchino, Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice

Character Animation in a Television Production
Tony Smeed, Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice

Production Design in a Television Production
Mark Bodnar, Chris Tsirgiotis, Sue Mondt and Daniel Elson, Secret Mountain Fort Awesome

Voice Acting in a Television Production
Jeff Bennett, The Penguins of Madagascar

June Foray Award
Art Leonardi

Windsor McCay Award
Ronald Searle, Walt Peregoy, Borge Ring

Special Achievment Annie Award
Depth Analysis

No comments:

Post a Comment