Wednesday, February 22, 2012

2012 Costume Designers Guild (CDG) Awards - winners

On Tuesday night, the Costume Designers Guild held their 14th Annual CDG Awards ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California. The event was hosted by actress Jane Lynch and included presenters Billy Bob Thornton, Diane Lane, Robert Duvall, Demi Moore and Ashton Kutcher.

In the Contemporary Film category, the winner was Trish Summerville with The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. She had been up against the costume designers for Bridesmaids, The Descendants, Drive and Melancholia.

For Period Film, the prize went to Arianne Phillips for her work on Madonna's W.E. She edged out the designers for The Artist, Jane Eyre, The Help and multiple Oscar-winner Sandy Powell of Hugo.

Jany Temime won for Fantasy Film with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 over Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, Red Riding Hood, Thor and X-Men: First Class.

Television costume design winners were for the shows Downton Abbey, Boardwalk Empire and Glee.

Honourary awards were presented to Marlene Stewart, Lou Eyrich, Kate Beckinsale and the Distinguished Collaborators Clint Eastwood and Deborah Hopper.


Complete list of winners for the 14th Annual CDG Awards

Excellence in Contemporary Film
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Trish Summerville

Excellence in Period Film
W.E., Arianne Phillips

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, Jany Temime

Outstanding Contemporary TV Series
Glee, Loy Eyrich & Jennifer Eve

Outstanding Period/Fantasy TV Series
Boardwalk Empire, John A. Dunn, Lisa Padovani

Outstanding Made-for-TV Movie or Miniseries
Downton Abbey, Susannah Buxton

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design
Swiffer, "Country Dirt Girl", Roseanne Fiedler

Lacoste Spotlight Award
Kate Beckinsale

Distinguised Collaborator Award
Clint Eastwood Distinguished Collaborator with Costume Designer Deborah Hopper

Disaronno Career Achievement in Film Award
Marlene Stewart

Career Achievement in Television Award
Lou Eyrich

Costume Designers Guild 2011 Awards from Gina Silverstein on Vimeo.

No comments:

Post a Comment