Sunday, June 26, 2011

12th International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards - winners

On Saturday night, Toronto was host to the 12th International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards, the culmination three days of festivities celebrating Indian culture and cinema. The sold-out event with a crowd of 22,000 took place at the Rogers Centre was hosted by Riteish Deshmukh and Boman Iran. Unfortunately, the ceremony began 90 minutes late.

Dabangg (Fearless) was the big winner of the night taking ten awards. Its wins included Best Film, Performance in a Negative Role (Sonu Sood), Screenplay, Music, Playback Singer (both Male and Female) and Choreography.

Band Baaja Baaraat was next with six awards including Best Actress (Anushka Sharma) and Male Debutant (Ranveer Singh). Sharma and Singh together were named the Best On-Screen Couple. My Name Is Khan followed closely with five wins including Best Direction (Karan Johar) and Lead Actor (Shah Rukh Khan).  Khan plays a man with Asperger syndrome.

Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai had led 12 nominations but its only win of the evening was for Prachi Desai in the Supporting Actress category.

Performers who took part in the evening included Kangana Ranaut, Bobby Deol, Shilpa Shetty of Big Brother fame, Priyanka Chopra and Bipasha Basu. Among the Hollywood attendees were Hilary Swank and Cuba Gooding Jr. who were also presenters. Canadian stars included Lisa Ray and Tom Green.

Ontario has the second-largest Indian diaspora in the world, topping 600,000 out of a total population of 13 million, and about half-a-million in the Greater Toronto Area. “Their passion for Indian cinema has become ours [all Ontarians] too,” said Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty.

On Sunday, TIFF Bell Lightbox begins a retrospective of Indian film icon Raj Kapoor.

Last year's big winner was the comedy 3 Idiots in a ceremony that took place in Colombo, Sri Lanka.


Winners list for the 12th International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards

Best Film

Dabangg, Arbaaz Khan Productions

Best Direction

My Name Is Khan, Karan Johar

Performance In A Leading Role Male

My Name Is Khan, Shah Rukh Khan

Performance In A Leading Role Female

Band Baaja Baaraat, Anushka Sharma

Performance In A Supporting Role Male

Raajneeti, Arjun Rampal

Performance In A Supporting Role Female

Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai, Prachi Desai

Performance In A Comic Role

Housefull, Riteish Deshmukh

Performance In A Negative Role

Dabangg, Sonu Sood

Debutant Star Award (Male)

Band Baaja Baaraat, Ranveer Singh

Debutant Star Award (Female)

Dabangg, Sonakshi Sinah

Music Direction

Dabangg, Sajid - Wajid & Lalit Pandit


My Name Is Khan, Shibani Bhatija

My Name Is Khan, Niranjan Iyengar - Sajdaa

Playback Singer Male

Dabangg, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan - Tere Mast Mast Do Nain

Playback Singer Female
Dabangg, Mamta Sharma - Munni Badnam


Dabangg, Dilip Shukla, Abhinav Kashyap


Ishqiya, Vishal Bhardwaj

Outstanding Achievement in International Cinema

Irrfan Khan

Lifetime Achievement Award

Asha Bhonsle

Outstanding Contribution to Indian cinema

Dharmendra (50 years in cinema)

Outstanding Achievement in Indian cinema

Sharmila Tagore

Best On-Screen Jodi (Couple)

Anuksha Sharma and Ranveer Singh, Band Baaja Baaraat

Special ‘Green’ Award

Priyanka Chopra

2011 IIFA Technical Winners List (previously announced)

Sudeep Chatterjee, Guzaarish


Namrata Rao, Band Baaja Baaraat

Art Director

Sabu Cyril, Robot

Farah Khan - Munni Badnam, Dabangg

S. Vijayan, Dabangg

Sound Recording
Pritam Das, Love, Sex Aur Dhokha

Song Recording

Vijay Dayal - Ainvayi Ainvayim, Band Baaja Baaraat

Sound Re-recording

Leslie Fernandes, Dabangg

Special Effects

Indian Artists, Robot

Background Score

Shankar, Ehsaan, Loy, My Name Is Khan

Costume Designing

Niharika Khan, Band Baaja Baaraat


Banu (For Rajnikant), Robot

No comments:

Post a Comment