Tuesday, June 8, 2010

2010 Indian International Film Academy awards

A three-day weekend ceremony took place June 3-5 at Sugathadasa Stadium in the Sri Lankan capital of Colombo for the 11th annual Indian International Film Academy (IIFA) awards, also known as Bollywood's Oscars. The IIFA awards takes place in a different city outside India every year. But this year's choice proved controversial since Sri Lanka is slowly recovering from a 26-year civil war. Many from the country's Tamil minority called for a boycott due to allegations that many Tamil civilians were killed by Sri Lankan forces as the war came to an end. Southern Indian film distributors threatened to boycott any star who attended. As a result, many big Bollywood stars did choose to stay away, including the legendary Amitabh Bachchan, who had not missed any of the previous ten awards ceremonies.

The hit college-comedy 3 Idiots was the big winner, taking 16 of a possible 31 awards including Best Picture and Best Director. The Best Actress award was shared by 3 Idiots' Kareena Kapoor and Vidya Balan for Paa. Amitabh Bachchan was Balan's co-star and won Best Actor for portraying a man with the aging-disease progeria (his character's father was played by his real-life son Abhishek Bachchan).

Previous IIFA Awards ceremonives have taken place in cities such as London, Dubai, Bangkok, Amsterdam, and last year's Macau. Next year, Toronto will be the first North American city to host the IIFA awards.

complete list of 2010 International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Award winners:

Debut of the year (Male)
Omi Vaidya – Jackie Bhagnani

Debut of the year (Female)
Jacqueline Fernandez – Mahie Gill

Best Story
Abhijat Joshi, Raj Kumar Hirani, Vidu Vinod Chopra – 3 Idiots

Best Lyrics
Swanand Kirkire – 3 Idiots

Playback Singer (Female)
Kavita Seth – Ek Tara (Wake Up Sid)

Playback Singer (Male)
Shaan – Behti Hawa Sa Tha Who (3 Idiots)

Music Direction
Pritam – Love Aaj Kal

Best Film
Vidhu Vinod Chopra – 3 Idiots

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Male)
Amitabh Bachchan – Paa

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Female)
Kareena Kapoor – 3 Idiots & Vidya Balan – Paa

Best Direction
Rajkumar Hirani – 3 Idiots

Best Performance in a Comic Role
Sanjay Dutt – All The Best

Best Performance in a Negative Role
Boman Irani – 3 Idiots

Best Performance in Supporting Role (Male)
Sharman Joshi – 3 Idiots

Best Performance in Supporting Role (Female)
Divya Dutta – Delhi 6

Outstanding Achievement by an Indian Internationally
Anil Kapoor

IIFA Green Global Award
Vivek Oberoi

Technical Awards Winners

Best Screenplay
Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra (3 Idiots)

Best Cinematography
C.K. Muraleedharan (3 Idiots)

Best Dialogue
Rajkumar Hirani, Abhijat Joshi (3 Idiots)

Best Background Score
Sanjay Wandrekar, Atul Raninga, Shantanu Moitra (3 Idiots)

Best Editing
Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots)

Best Sound Recording
Bishwadeep Chatterjee, Nihal Ranjan Samel (3 Idiots)

Best Special Effects (Visual)
Charles Darby – Eyecube Labs (Aladin)

Best Action
Shyam Kaushal (Kaminey)

Best Song Recording
Bishwadeep Chatterjee, Sachi K Sanghvi (3 Idiots)

Best Sound Re-recording
Anup Dev (3 Idiots)

Best Choreography
Bosco Martis, Caesar Gonsalves (Love Aaj Kal)

Best Costume Designing
Anahita Shroff Adajania, Dolly Ahluwalia (Love Aaj Kal)

Best Art Direction
Sabu Cyril (Aladin)

Best Make up Artist
Christien Tinsley, Domini Till (Paa)

No comments:

Post a Comment