Wednesday, January 9, 2013

2013 Cinema Eye Honors – winners

The gala for the 6th Annual Cinema Eye Honors took place tonight at New York City’s Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens.

The top prize of Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking went to 5 Broken Cameras by Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi. The film portrays a first-hand account of the situation in Palestine when the village of Bil’in takes up nonviolent resistance after the Israeli army encroached upon its land to make room for Jewish colonists. That was the film's only prize, however, and it looked like it would be going home empty-handed until the final award was announced.

Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady's Detropia was the only multiple award-winner. It won for Outstanding Achievement in Direction, and for Original Music.

The Cinema Eye Honors were founded in 2007 to recognize excellence in artistry and craft in nonfiction filmmaking. It remains the only international nonfiction award to recognize the whole creative team, presenting annual craft awards in directing, producing, cinematography, editing, composing and graphic design/animation.

Nominations for the 6th Annual Cinema Eye Honors

Complete list of winners for the 6th Annual Cinema Eye Honors

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking
5 Broken Cameras; Directed by Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi

Outstanding Achievement in Direction
Detropia; Directed by Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady

Outstanding Achievement in Production
The Imposter; Produced by Dimitri Doganis

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
Chasing Ice; Jeffrey Orlowski

Outstanding Achievement in Editing
How to Survive a Plague; T. Woody Richman, Tyler H. Walk

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design and Animation
Searching for Sugar Man; Oskar Gullstrand, Arvid Steen

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score
Detropia; Dial.81

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film
Only the Young; Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims

Spotlight Award
Argentynska lekcja (Argentinian Lesson); Wojciech Staroń

Audience Choice Prize
Bully; Directed by Lee Hirsch

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking
Good Bye Mandima (Kwa Heri Mandima); Directed by Robert-Jan Lacombe

Cinema Eye Heterodox Award
Museum Hours; Directed by Jem Cohen

2013 Legacy Award
The War Room, Chris Hegedus & D A Pennebaker

No comments:

Post a Comment