Friday, January 20, 2012

2012 Bayerischer Filmpreis (Bavarian Film Awards) - winners

Today, the Bavarian State Government held the ceremony for their 33rd Annual Bayerischer Filmpreis (Bavarian Film Awards) at the Prinzregententheater (Prince Regent Theatre) in Munich. Winners receive cash prizes of €10,000 except for the Producers who receive a larger sum and the Audience and Honourary Awards which do not receive any cash prize. They also receive porcelain statuettes known as the "Pierrots" named after the Commedia dell'arte character.

The cancer drama Halt auf freier Strecke (Stopped on Track) was the main winner of the night. It took the top prize for Best Producer and awards for actors Steffi Kühnert and Milan Peschel. It shared the €200,000 with the producers of Hotel Lux. It was, however, the only award for Hotel Lux.

The only other film to win multiple awards was Kriegerin (Combat Girls). David Wnendt was named Best Young Director and Jella Haase was named Best Young Actor for her role in both Kriegerin and Lollipop Monster.

The Best Director Prize went to Doris Dörrie for Glück (Bliss). Bettina Mittendorfer was named Best Actress for her starring turn in Eine ganz heiße Nummer (A Really Hot Number).

The Audience Award went to Simon Verhoeven for his sequel to the comedy Männerherzen (Men in the City) called Männerherzen ... und die ganz ganz große Liebe (Men in the City 2) (literally: Men's Hearts ... and the Very Very Great Love).

Director Wim Wenders was recognized with a prize for Lifetime Achievement, the Ehrenpreis des bayerischen Ministerpräsidenten (Honourary Prize of the Bavarian Prime Minister).

The Bayerischer Filmpreis are decided by an eleven-member jury of industry professionals. They are supported by the Bavarian State Chancellery and appointed to three-year terms. The current jury consists of actress Isolde Barth, Bettina Reitz (Degeto Film), Susanne Petz (producer), Benedict Neuenfels (cinematographer), Manfred Heid (producer), Steffen Kuchenreuther (president of Spitzenorganisation der Filmwirtschaft), Adrian Prechtel (journalist), Wolfgang Limmer (writer, director), Klaus Schaefer (FilmFernsehFonds Bayern), Hans Steinbichler (director) and Carolin Kerschbaumer (Film officer of Bayerische Staatskanzlei).


Complete list of winners for the 33rd Annual Bayerischer Filmpreis

Best Producer (TIE) €100.000 each
Günter Rohrbach, Corinna Eich, Jan S. Kaiser, Hotel Lux
Peter Rommel, Halt auf freier Strecke (Stopped on Track)

Best Actor €10.000 each
Steffi Kühnert and Milan Peschel, Halt auf freier Strecke (Stopped on Track)

Best Actress €10.000
Bettina Mittendorfer, Eine ganz heiße Nummer (A Really Hot Number)

Best Young Actor €10.000
Jella Haase, Kriegerin (Combat Girls) and Lollipop Monster

Best Director €10.000
Doris Dörrie, Glück (Bliss)

Best Young Director €10.000
David Wnendt, Kriegerin (Combat Girls)

VGF New Producer Award €60.000
Boris Jendreyko and Thomas Klimmer, Die Farbe des Ozeans (Color of the Ocean)

Best Screenplay €10.000
Christian Zübert, Dreiviertelmond (Three Quarter Moon)

Best Editing €10.000
Andreas Menn, Hell

Best Cinematography €10.000
Hannes Hubach, Lollipop Monster

Best Documentary Film €10.000
Arnon Goldfinger, Die Wohnung (The Apartment)

Best Young People's Film €10.000
Wickie auf großer Fahrt (Vicky and the Treasure of the Gods), Christian Ditter

Audience Award
Männerherzen ... und die ganz ganz große Liebe (Men in the City 2), Simon Verhoeven

Lifetime Achievement Award
Wim Wenders, Pina

No comments:

Post a Comment