Wednesday, January 11, 2012

2012 American Society of Cinematographers ASC Awards - nominees

The American Society of Cinematographers has announced the film nominees for the 26th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards.

The nominees for Motion Picture Cinematography are Guillaume Schiffman for The Artist, Jeff Cronenweth for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Robert Richardson for Hugo, Hoyte van Hoytema for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Emmanuel Lubezki for The Tree of Life.

Lubezki has been nominated for the ASC Award twice before, winning in 2007 for Children of Men. This is Cronenweth's second consecutive nomination after being nominated last year for The Social Network. For Richardson, this is his 10th nomination, while Schiffman and van Hoytema are both nominated for the first time.

A surprise omission was Janusz Kaminski's who was cinematographer for Steven Spielberg's War Horse.

The television nominees were announced previously in December.

The awards ceremony for the 26th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards will be held on February 12 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.


Complete list of nominations for the 26th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards


Guillaume Schiffman, AFC (The Artist)
Jeff Cronenweth, ASC (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo)
Robert Richardson, ASC (Hugo)
Hoyte van Hoytema, FSF, NSC (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy)
Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC (The Tree of Life)


One-hour Episodic Television Series/Pilot
David Franco for HBO’s Boardwalk Empire (“To the Lost”)
Jonathan Freeman, ASC for Boardwalk Empire (“21”)
David Katznelson, DFF, BSC for PBS’ Downton Abbey (Pilot)
John Lindley, ASC for ABC’s Pan Am (Pilot)
David Stockton, ASC for NBC’s Chase (“Narco Part 2”)

Television Movie/Miniseries
Ed Lachman, ASC for HBO’s Mildred Pierce
Kevin Moss for Showtime’s Chicago Overcoat
David Moxness, CSC for ReelzChannel’s The Kennedys (“Moral Issues and Inner Turmoil”)
Martin Ruhe for PBS’ Page Eight
Wojciech Szepel for PBS’ Any Human Heart (“Episode 2”)

Half-hour Episodic Series or Pilot
James Bagdonas, ASC for ABC’s Modern Family (“Bixby’s Back”)
Michael Balfry, CSC for The Hub’s R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour (“Brush with Madness”)
Vanja Cernjul, HFC for HBO’s Bored to Death (“Forget the Herring”)
Levie Isaacks, ASC for ABC’s Man Up (“Acceptance”)
Michael Weaver, ASC for Showtime’s Californication (“Suicide Solution”)

No comments:

Post a Comment