Sunday, October 23, 2011

World Soundtrack Awards 2011 - winners

The World Soundtrack Academy held their 11th World Soundtrack Awards at a ceremony in Ghent that included live music by the Brussels Philharmonic. The Film Composer of the Year for the third year in a row was Alexandre Desplat. His films this past year included the Oscar-winner The King’s Speech, The Tree of Life, and the final two Harry Potter films.

Hans Zimmer won the Best Original Film Score of the Year 2010 for his score of Inception. There is some controversy around that score, however, since much of the score consists of sound design (manipulating an old Edith Piaf recording) rather than composing.

Clint Mansell had led the nominations along with Desplat and Zimmer, but went away empty-handed.

Randy Newman won Best Original Song for "We Belong Together" from the animated feature Toy Story 3. Alex Heffes was named the Discovery of the Year for scoring The First Grader and The Rite, while the much-lauded A.R Rahman claimed the Public Choice Award for 127 Hours.

The awards ceremony was the closing event of the 38th Ghent International Film Festival. Attendees included Gabriel Yared (The Talented Mr. Ripley), Hans Zimmer (Inception), Elliot Goldenthal (Batman Forever), Giorgio Moroder (Scarface), Walter Murch (Apocalypse now), Alexandre Desplat (The King’s Speech), Alex Heffes (The First Grader and The Rite) and Abel Korzeniowski (previous Discovery of the Year with A Serious Man).

The concert was dedicated to the memory of slain publicist Ronni Chasen.


Complete list of winners for the World Soundtrack Awards 2011

Film Composer of the Year

Alexandre Desplat (A Better Life, The Burma Conspiracy, The King’s Speech, The Tree of Life, The Well Digger’s Daughter, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows : Part 1, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows : Part 2)

Best Original Film Score of the Year 2010

Inception by Hans Zimmer

Best original song written for Film

We Belong Together from Toy Story 3 by Randy Newman

Discovery of the Year

Alex Heffes for The First Grader & The Rite

Public Choice Award

127 Hours by A.R Rahman

Sabam Award for Best Young European Composer

Gabriel Heinrich

Lifetime Achievement Award

Giorgio Moroder

No comments:

Post a Comment