Tuesday, October 18, 2011

2011 Canadian Comedy Awards - winners

The 12th annual Canadian Comedy Awards took place tonight at the Isabel Bader Theatre in Toronto as part of the Canadian Comedy Awards & Festival.

The prize for Best Film as voted by the public was Jacob Medjuck's Summerhood. Medjuck also won for Best Direction, Film. The other double-winner in film was Jacob Tierney's Good Neighbours. It won for Best Writing (Tierney) and Best Actor, Film (Jay Baruchel). Peepers had led with five nominations but was shut out.

In television, the only multiple winner was Less Than Kind. It won for Best Direction, Television Program or Series (James Dunnison), and Television Performance, Female (Brooke Palsson). The public's choice for Best TV Show was This Movie Sucks!

The Stand-Up awards for male and female went to Steve Patterson and Debra DiGiovanni respectively. Eric Andrews claimed the Stand-Up Newcomer award.

The Dave Broadfoot Award was presented to Jayne Eastwood. Samantha Bee was named Canadian Comedy Person of the Year.

The nominees were selected by a large jury that included Aurora Browne, Derrick Chua, Sarah Hillier, Peter Keleghan, Peter Oldring, Leah Pinsent, Kenny Robinson, Naomi Snieckus, and Glenn Sumi. With the exception of awards by public vote, the winners were determined by members of the Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA), Equity, the Writers Guild of Canada and the Directors Guild of Canada, plus some from the comedy community.



Complete list of winners for the 2011 Canadian Comedy Awards

Best Stand-Up Male: Steve Patterson

Best Stand-Up Female: Debra DiGiovanni

Best Stand-Up Newcomer: Eric Andrews

Best Comedic Play, Revue, or Series: Something Wicked Awesome This Way Comes (The Second City)

Best One Person Show: Cancer Can’t Dance Like This (Daniel Stolfi)

Best Sketch Troupe or Company: Picnicface

Best Improv Troupe or Company: The National Theatre of the World’s Impromptu Splendor

Best Male Improviser: Ron Pederson

Best Female Improviser: Sarah Hillier

Best Taped Live Performance: Nikki Payne (Halifax Comedy Fest 2010)

Best Direction, Television Program or Series: James Dunnison (Less Than Kind)

Best Writing, Television Program or Series: Ken Finkleman (Good Dog)

Best Television Performance, Male: Jason Priestley (Call Me Fitz)

Best Television Performance, Female: Brooke Palsson (Less Than Kind)

Best Television Performance, Ensemble: James Harnett, Hannah Hogan, Alana Johnston, Kayla Lorette, Joey Lucius, Alex Spencer, AJ Vaage (That’s So Weird)

Best Film Performance, Male: Jay Baruchel (Good Neighbours)

Best Film Performance, Female: Maria del Mar (A Touch of Grey)

Best Writing, Film: Jacob Tierney (Good Neighbours)

Best Direction, Film: Jacob Medjuck (Summerhood)

Dave Broadfoot Award: Jayne Eastwood

Awards determined by public voting

Best Radio Clip or Program: This Is That (Pat Kelly and Peter Oldring)

Best Web Clip: That Thing That Happened

Best TV Show: This Movie Sucks!

Best Film: Summerhood

Canadian Comedy Person of the Year: Samantha Bee

No comments:

Post a Comment