Sunday, March 27, 2011

Festival international du film sur l'art (FIFA) - award winners

At tonight's Closing Ceremonies for the 29th Festival international du film sur l'art (FIFA), the festival presented eleven awards for the films in competition. The Grand Prize was given to the film Antwerpen Centraal (Antwerp Central Station) by Peter Krüger from Belgium. It portrays a thoughtful look at the late nineteenth century architecture of the railway station.

The Jury Award went to Patrice Chéreau: le corps au travail by Stephane Metge from France. French actor/director Mathieu Amalric also won a prize, the Award for Creativity for his short documentary Joann Sfar (Dessins).

Saint-Denys Garneau by Jean-Philippe Dupuis was named the Best Canadian Film. Fellow Canadian Jennifer Alleyn won the  ARTV Springboard to the World Award for Dix Fois Dix.

The President of the Jury was historian Manon Blanchette (Canada), the executive director of the Board of Montréal Museum Directors. Joining her on the jury were Harry Bos, who directs the film theatre at the Institut Néerlandais in Paris; Belgian filmmaker Henri de Gerlache; artist and journalist Winston McQuade; and Sylvie Richard of the Institut national de l’audiovisuel (INA) in Paris.

Tomorrow is the final day of screenings for the festival.

Complete list of Award Winners for the 29th Festival international du film sur l'art

Grand Prize

Antwerpen Centraal (Antwerp Central Station), Peter Krüger (Belgium)

Jury Award

Patrice Chéreau: le corps au travail, Stephane Metge (France)

Award for Best Educational Film

T. S. Eliot, Adam Low (United Kingdom)

Award for Creativity

Joann Sfar (Dessins), Mathieu Amalric (France)

Award for Best Canadian Film

Saint-Denys Garneau, Jean-Philippe Dupuis (Canada)

Award for Best Essay

The Reach of Resonance, Steve Elkins (United States)

Award for Best Portrait

Basquiat, une vie, Jean Michel Vecchiet (France, Belgium)

Award for Best Reportage

Comic Books Go to War, Mark Daniels (Italy)

Award for Best Film for Television

Niki de Saint Phalle et Jean Tinguely, les Bonnie and Clyde de l’art, Louise Faure and Anne Julien (France)

Liliane Stewart Award for Design Arts

Bauhaus – Model and Myth, Niels Bolbrinker and Kerstin Stutterheim (Germany)

ARTV Springboard to the World Award

Dix Fois Dix, Jennifer Alleyn (Canada)

No comments:

Post a Comment