Sunday, February 13, 2011

Orange British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA) - winners

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) held their ceremony tonight for the 2011 Orange British Academy Film Awards, also known as the BAFTA Awards. As expected, The King's Speech continued its domination of the industry awards.

It had led with fourteen nominations, and finished with a total of seven awards including Best Film, Outstanding British Film, and Best Screenplay (David Seidler). Colin Firth won Best Actor for the second year in a row, having won last year for his performance in A Single Man. Geoffrey Rush and Helena Bonham Carter also won their respective acting categories, and Alexandre Desplat won for Original Music.

Best Actress was Natalie Portman for her work in Black Swan

In a spoiler, however, David Fincher won the Directing category for The Social Network.  It finished the night with three prizes. Inception also won three awards, including Production Design.

The prize for Film Not in the English Language went to The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. Toy Story 3 won for Best Animated Film. Chris Morris won the Outstanding Debut award for his terrorist-themed dark comedy Four Lions.

An Academy Fellowship was presented by Tim Burton to Sir Christopher Lee, considered to be the British Academy's highest honour. Stephen Fry presented the entire Harry Potter series of films with an Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award. 

Complete list of winners for the 14th Orange British Academy Film Awards

Best Film
The King’s Speech - Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin

Outstanding British Film
The King’s Speech - Tom Hooper, David Seidler, Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer
Four Lions - Director/Writer - Chris Morris

The Social Network - David Fincher

Original Screenplay
The King’s Speech - David Seidler

Adapted Screenplay
The Social Network - Aaron Sorkin

Film Not In The English Language
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Soren Staermose, Niels Arden Oplev

Animated Film
Toy Story 3 - Lee Unkrich

Leading Actor
Colin Firth - The King’s Speech

Leading Actress
Natalie Portman - Black Swan

Supporting Actor
Geoffrey Rush - The King’s Speech

Supporting Actress
Helena Bonham Carter - The King’s Speech

Original Music
The King’s Speech - Alexandre Desplat

True Grit - Roger Deakins

The Social Network - Angus Wall, Kirk Baxter

Production Design
Inception - Guy Hendrix Dyas, Larry Dias, Doug Mowat

Costume Design
Alice In Wonderland
- Colleen Atwood

Inception - Richard King, Lora Hirschberg, Gary A Rizzo, Ed Novick

Special Visual Effects
Inception - Chris Corbould, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Peter Bebb

Make Up & Hair
Alice In Wonderland
- Valli O’Reilly, Paul Gooch

Short Animation

The Eagleman Stag - Michael Please

Short Film

Until The River Runs Red - Paul Wright, Poss Kondeatis

Orange Wednesdays Rising Award

Tom Hardy

Academy Fellowship
Sir Christopher Lee

Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema

The Harry Potter films

No comments:

Post a Comment