Monday, February 14, 2011

25th annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards - winners

The American Society of Cinematographers held their ceremony for the 25th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards tonight at the Hollywood and Highland Grand Ballroom.

The surprise winner in the Film section was Wally Pfister for his work on Inception. He has previously been nominated for Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. He defeated fellow nominees Matthew Libatique (Black Swan), Danny Cohen (The King’s Speech), Jeff Cronenweth (The Social Network) and Roger Deakins (True Grit). The award was presented by Diane Lane. Unfortunately, Pfister was unable to attend, and Owen Roizman accepted on his behalf.

Deakins was the favourite to win, and had already won the BAFTA Award earlier in the night. He was awarded the 2011 American Society of Cinematographers Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to him by half of the Coen brothers, Joel Coen. He has previously won ASC Awards for The Shawshank Redemption and The Man Who Wasn't There but hasn't yet won an Oscar.

All of the film nominees are also nominated for the 83rd Academy Awards for Cinematography. Last year's winner was also a surprise, Christian Berger of Das Weisse Band (The White Ribbon).

The ASC presented several other previously announced honourary awards. Julia Roberts was presented with the American Society of Cinematographers 2011 Board of Governors Award by Tom Hanks. Australian John Seale received the ASC International Award, presented to a foreign cinematographer. Michael O’Shea was given the ASC Career Achievement in Television Award. Douglas Kirkland received the 2011 ASC Presidents Award for contributions to the art form. Kirkland was born and raised in Toronto.

In the Television section, Kramer Morgenthau won for Regular Series or Pilot for Boardwalk Empire, “Family Limitation.”

Stephen Windon won for Television Movies or Miniseries for his work on The Pacific, "Okinawa."

Boyd Hobbs and Dagmar Weaver-Madsen were named recipients of the William A. Fraker Heritage Award for outstanding artistic achievement in student filmmaking.

No comments:

Post a Comment