Tuesday, January 4, 2011

London Evening Standard British Film Awards - nominees

The British newspaper Evening Standard has unveiled the contenders for its 2010 London Evening Standard British Film Awards. Competing for Best Film are Another Year, The Arbor, The Illusionist, Kick-Ass, The King's Speech, Neds and Never Let Me Go.

The Standard awards do not have separate lead and supporting categories for the actors. As a result, co-stars Keira Knightley and Carey Mulligan from Never Let Me Go compete against each other. Their co-star Andrew Garfield is nominated for his work in both Never Let Me Go and The Social Network.

The nominees for Best Documentary are A Day In The Life, Oil City Confidential, Enemies Of The People, Exit Through The Gift Shop, Land Of The Free and No Greater Love.

The Standard awards consider British films released between last February and the start of February this year, or performances or works by British actors or film-makers in any films released during the same period.

The Standard awards were founded in 1973 and are chosen by a jury of critics. The ceremony will be hosted by "Green Wing" star Stephen Mangan on February 7, 2011 at the London Film Museum at County Hall.

Complete longlist for the 2010 London Evening Standard British Film Awards

Another Year, Mike Leigh
The Arbor, Clio Barnard
The Illusionist, Sylvain Chomet
Kick-Ass, Matthew Vaughn
The King's Speech, Tom Hooper
Neds, Peter Mullan
Never Let Me Go, Mark Romanek

Riz Ahmed, Four Lions
Jim Broadbent, Another Year
Colin Firth, The King's Speech
Andrew Garfield, The Social Network, Never Let Me Go
Eddie Marsan, The Disappearance Of Alice Creed
Ewan McGregor, The Ghost
Sam Riley, Brighton Rock

Brenda Blethyn, London River
Rebecca Hall, Please Give
Sally Hawkins, Made In Dagenham
Keira Knightley, Never Let Me Go
Carey Mulligan, Never Let Me Go
Kristin Scott Thomas, Partir
Ruth Sheen, Another Year
Tilda Swinton, I Am Love
Olivia Williams, The Ghost

Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy, 127 Hours
Ben Wheatley and Robin Hill, Down Terrace
Robert Harris, The Ghost
Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn, Kick-Ass
Clio Barnard, The Arbor
Alex Garland, Never Let Me Go

Gareth Edwards for his cinematography, production design and visual effects on Monsters
Jenny Beavan for her costume design for The King's Speech
Dick Pope for his cinematography on Another Year
Andrew McAlpine for his production design for Made In Dagenham
Dickon Hinchliffe for his score for Winter's Bone
Mark Tildesley for his production design for The Killer Inside Me

Roger Allam for his performance in Tamara Drewe
Omid Djalili for his performance in The Infidel
Ed Gaughan for his performance in Skeletons
Robin Hill for his performance in Down Terrace
David Thewlis for his performance in London Boulevard

J Blakeson, writer/director of The Disappearance Of Alice Creed
Tuppence Middleton, for her performances in Skeletons and Chatroom
Nick Whitfield, director of Skeletons
Ben Wheatley, co-writer and director of Down Terrace
Conor McCarron, for his performance in Neds

A Day In The Life, John Krish
Oil City Confidential, Julien Temple
Enemies Of The People, Thet Sambat and Rob Lemkin
Exit Through The Gift Shop, Banksy
Land Of The Free, Vadim Jean
No Greater Love, Michael Whyte

No comments:

Post a Comment