Sunday, January 23, 2011

22nd annual Producers Guild Awards - winners

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) held their 22nnd annual PGA Awards ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Saturday. Judd Apatow host the event that saw Helen Mirren present the Darryl F. Zanuck Award (their equivalent of Best Picture) to The King's Speech (Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin). This was a delightful upset, as the awards have been quite predictable so far. It bested its nine co-nominees including strong contenders such as 127 Hours, Black Swan, Inception, The Fighter, and especially The Social Network.

Toy Story 3 (Darla K. Anderson) won the Animated Picture award as expected. The winner for Documentary was Waiting For ‘Superman’ (Lesley Chilcott).

With the television series awards, the Comedy prize went to “Modern Family” while the Drama prize went to "Mad Men."

The Guild presented some distinguished members with honourary awards. Amy Adams presented the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television to Tom Hanks and Gary Goetzman, and Hanks praised the acting community, saying "we are here because actors love the craft of acting." They were also winners of the Long Form Television category with "The Pacific."

Sean Penn was honoured with the Stanley Kramer Award, given to "a motion picture, producer
or other individual, whose achievement or contribution illuminates provocative social
issues in an accessible and elevating fashion" He is the first individual to win the award, in recognition of his humanitarian efforts in Haiti.

Director David Fincher presented the Visionary Award to Laura Ziskin, whom he described as "part damsel in distress, and part Rottweiler." She was recognized for both her storytelling and her work with the Stand Up to Cancer campaign.

Prolific producer Scott Rudin was presented with the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures. Larry Gordon introduced him, saying "'He doesn't have to make superhero movies because he is one."

Stephen Lang presented James Cameron with the PGA's Milestone Award. Cameron noted that "no audience was ever won over by a film because it was made on a budget."

The 3D technology provider RealD  received the Guild’s Vanguard Award, which was presented to co-founders Michael V. Lewis and Joshua Greer.

Complete list of winners for the 22nd annual Producers Guild Awards

Theatrical motion picture

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures
The King's Speech, Producers: Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
Toy Story 3
, Producer: Darla K. Anderson

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures
Waiting For ‘Superman’, Producer: Lesley Chilcott


The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy
“Modern Family” (ABC), Producers: Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jason Winer, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama
“Mad Men” (AMC), Producers: Lisa Albert, Scott Hornbacher, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Blake McCormick, Dwayne Shattuck, Matthew Weiner

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television
“The Pacific” (HBO), Producers: Gary Goetzman, Tom Hanks, Eugene Kelly, Todd London, Cherylanne Martin, Bruce C. McKenna, Steven Shareshian, Steven Spielberg, Tony To, Tim Van Patten, Graham Yost

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television
“Deadliest Catch” (Discovery Channel), Producers: Thom Beers, Jeff Conroy, Sheila McCormack, Ethan Prochnik, Matt Renner

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment and Competition Television
“The Colbert Report” (Comedy Central), Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen T. Colbert, Richard Dahm, Tom Purcell, Allison Silverman, Jon Stewart

No comments:

Post a Comment