Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Denis Villeneuve's Incendies wins 2010 Rogers Best Canadian Film Award

The Toronto Film Critics Association held their Awards dinner tonight to honour the winners of their awards for the best of 2010. They also named Denis Villeneuve's Incendies winner of the Rogers Best Canadian Film Award. This is his second win in a row, having won last year for his film Polytechnique. The prize comes with a $15,000 prize.

The other candidates for the Best Canadian Film Award were Splice by Vincenzo Natali and Trigger directed by Bruce McDonald. All three films were named to Canada's Top Ten by the Toronto International Film Festival and a panel of industry professionals.

The TFCA’s Jay Scott Prize for an emerging artist was given to Toronto filmmaker Daniel Cockburn for his film You Are Here. The inaugural 2010 Deluxe Student Film Award was presented to Humber College student David Cadiz for his short film Adventures of Owen.

Wins Top Canadian Award Second Year in a Row

TORONTO - Incendies, Denis Villeneuve’s epic adaptation of Wajdi Mouawad’s complex stage play about Quebec siblings who uncover their immigrant mother’s tortured history, has won the Toronto Film Critics Association’s Rogers Best Canadian Film Award.

The award was presented to Villeneuve by Jay Baruchel, star of How to Train Your Dragon, winner of the TFCA’s Best Animated Feature Award, at a gala dinner held January 12 at Toronto’s Nota Bene restaurant. Also nominated for the award were Splice, directed by Vincenzo Natali, and Trigger, directed by Bruce McDonald.

The cash value of the Rogers Best Canadian Film Award is $15,000, up from $10,000 in previous years. This marks the first time the award has been bestowed upon the same person two years in a row. (Villeneuve won the 2009 Rogers Canadian Best Film Award for Polytechnique.)

Incendies is the official Canadian entry for the 2010 Academy Awards.

“Winning our top Canadian prize two years in a row is a testament to Denis Villeneuve’s brilliance as a filmmaker and the astounding scale of his creative ambition,” says TFCA President Brian D. Johnson, film critic for Maclean’s magazine. “With Incendies, he has bridged Montreal and the Middle East to create a deeply resonant tragedy about family and the uncontainable nature of war.”

“Rogers is pleased to support the Best Canadian Film Award again this year,” said Phil Lind, Vice Chairman, Rogers Communications. “While tackling difficult subject matter, Denis Villeneuve has crafted another remarkable film.”
Don McKellar presented the TFCA’s Jay Scott Prize for an emerging artist to Toronto filmmaker Daniel Cockburn (You Are Here) and Patricia Rozema presented the inaugural 2010 Deluxe Student Film Award to Humber College student David Cadiz for his short film Adventures of Owen. The Jay Scott Prize is accompanied by a $5,000 cash award; the Deluxe Student Film Award carries a value of $3,000 in post-production services from Deluxe Toronto.

CBC broadcaster Jian Ghomeshi presented a TFCA Special Citation to director Bruce McDonald for a year of exceptional creativity. McDonald directed an astonishing four films in 2010: This Movie Is Broken, Trigger, Hard Core Logo 2 and the documentary Music from the Big House. As McDonald was shooting in Saskatchewan, the award was accepted by his wife, filmmaker Dany Chiasson, executive producer of the three features.

Established in 1997, the Toronto Film Critics Association is comprised of Toronto based journalists and broadcasters who specialize in film criticism and commentary. All major dailies, weeklies and a variety of other print and electronic outlets are represented.

The TFCA is especially grateful to founding sponsor Rogers Communications Inc., and welcomes new sponsors RBC, Porter Airlines and Deluxe Toronto. The TFCA also thanks the ongoing generosity of its additional sponsors: Maclean’s magazine, Nota Bene, Moet & Chandon, Four Seasons Hotel, Ontario Film Development Corporation, Cineplex Entertainment, the Globe and Mail, and Citytv.

The TFCA is affiliated with the International Federation of International Film Critics (FIPRESCI). Members have sat on juries at festivals in Cannes, Toronto, Berlin, Venice, Miami, Palm Springs, Vienna, Chicago, Pusan, Moscow, San Francisco, Warsaw, Amsterdam and London, among others.

No comments:

Post a Comment