Thursday, June 21, 2012

Inaugural Chennai Times Film Awards – winners

The Times of India held their first ever Chennai Times Film Awards in which the public could decide the best of the Tamil film industry (known as "Kollywood") in 2011.

The top winner was K. V. Anand's Ko with four awards. It won Best Film, Actor in a Negative Role – Male (Ajmal), Music Director (Harris Jayaraj) and Singer – Male (Aalap Raju).

Venkat Prabhu's Mankatha also was a four-time prizewinner. Its wins were for Best Youth Film, Best Actor Male (Ajith), Promising Newcomer – Male (Ashwin Kakumanu) and Actor in a Negative Role – Female (Lakshmi Rai).

Two films scored a pair of wins. Engaeyum Eppothum won for Best Screenplay and Best Actor – Female (Anjali). Vaagai Sooda Vaa picked up awards for Best Lyrics and Female Singer (Chinmayi).

Complete list of winners for the 1st Chennai Times Film Awards

Best Film

Best Youth Film

Best Director
Vetri Maaran (Aadukalam)

Best Screenplay
Saravanan (Engaeyum Eppothum)

Best Actor Male
Ajith (Mankatha)

Best Actor Female
Anjali (Engaeyum Eppothum)

Promising Newcomer Male
Ashwin Kakumanu (Mankatha)

Promising Newcomer Female
Hansika (Mapillai)

Best Actor in a Negative Role Male
Ajmal (Ko)

Best Actor in a Negative Role Female
Lakshmi Rai (Mankatha)

Best Actor in a Comic Role
Santhanam (Vaanam)

Best Music Director
Harris Jayaraj (Ko)

Best Lyrics
Vairamuthu (Sara Sara Saara Kathu in Vaagai Sooda Vaa)

Best Singer Male
Aalap Raju (Enamo Edho in Ko)

Best Singer Female
Chinmayi (Sara Sara Saara Kaathu in Vaagai Sooda Vaa)

No comments:

Post a Comment