Thursday, November 24, 2011

Inaugural Haiti Movie Awards - winners

On November 20, the Motion Picture Association of Haiti (MPAH) held their first ever Haiti Movie Awards at the UMass Boston campus center ballroom. The MPAH is based in Boston and is dedicated to helping and developing the emerging film industry in Haiti. The country is still struggling to recover from the devastating January 2010 earthquake.

The winner of the Best Picture prize was Oasis II, directed by Reginald Lubin. It was, however, it's only win of the ceremony. The Best Director Award went to Tutu Demosthène for The birth of an assassin.

San pran souf won two acting prizes. It took Best Actor for Jean Alix Holmand and Best Actress for Myriam Jean. Le peché et le pardon (Sin and Forgiveness) was also a double winner for acting. It took the supporting categories for Supporting Actor Huberman Saintil and Supporting Actress Martine Joseph.

Arnold Antonin was given a Lifetime Achievement Award. MPAH also honoured Governor Deval Patrick and State Representative Linda Forry with Humanitarian Awards for their efforts following the 2010 earthquake.

Winners for the 1st ever Haiti Movie Awards were determined by online vote in ten categories.


Complete Winners List for the 2011 MPAH Movie Awards

Best Actor
Jean Alix Holmand, San pran souf

Best Actress
Myriam Jean, San Pran souf

Best Original Movie Script
Œil pour œil, dent pour dent (And Eye for an Eye, A Tooth for a Tooth)

Best Director of Photography
Charlem Medeus, for Remo 2

Best Director
Tutu Demosthène, The birth of an assassin

Best Supporting Actor
Huberman Saintil, Le peché et le pardon (Sin and Forgiveness)

Best Supporting Actress
Martine Joseph, Le peché et le pardon (Sin and Forgiveness)

Best Haitian Movie Web Site

Best Picture
Oasis II, by Reginald Lubin

Best Comedian Actor
James Fleurinord aka Tonton Nord

2011 MPAH Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient
Arnold Antonin

Humanitarian Awards
Governor Deval Patrick, State Representative Linda Forry

No comments:

Post a Comment