Sunday, January 9, 2011

17th annual Star Screen Awards (India) - winners

The Karbonn Mobiles 17th Annual Star Screen Awards took place on Thursday and Udaan was named Best Film, while its director Vikramaditya Motwane won Best Director. Motwane’s debut film Udaan had the most  nominations going into the night with 14. Nonetheless, its victories were somewhat surprising as it was a low-budget production with no known stars. It also won Best Actor in a Negative Role (Ronit Roy) and Best Child Actor (Ayaan Barodia).

Two other low-budget productions Ishqiya and Band Baaja Baraat also picked up four awards each.

Abhinav Singh Kashyap’s big blockbuster hit Dabangg won six awards, though it wasn't even nominated for Best Film or Best Director. It won for Best Actor (Salman Khan), Best New Talent In Music (Mamta Sharma), Most Promising Newcomer - Female (Sonakshi Sinha), Best Choreography (Farah Khan) and Best Action (Master Vijayan), and tied for Best Music (Sajid Wajid).

The Star Screen Awards are considered more prestigious than the many popularity-based awards shows in India. The nomination and selection for the Screen Awards is done by a jury of distinguished industry professionals.

Jury chairman and filmmaker Amol Palekar praised the growing success of low-budget independent Indian cinema by saying, “So-called boutique cinema has found audience patronage and it was truly a privilege to be able to select our nominations from such an eclectic mix of movies from different genres.”

Complete list of winners for the 17th annual Star Screen Awards

Best Film 

Best Director
Vikramaditya Motwane (Udaan)

Best Actor (Male)

Salman Khan (Dabangg)

Best Actor (Female)
Vidya Balan (Ishqiya)

Best Actor Popular Choice (Male)
Shahrukh Khan (My Name Is Khan)

Best Actor Popular Choice (Female)
Katrina Kaif (Raajneeti, Tees Maar Khan)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male)
Arshad Warsi (Ishqiya)

Best Actor in A Supporting Role (Female)
Shernaaz Patel (Guzaarish)

Best Actor in a Comic Role (Male/Female)
Sanjay Mishra (Phas Gaye Re Obama)

Best Actor in a Negative Role (Male/Female)
Ronit Roy (Udaan)

Best Performer
Ajay Devgn (Golmaal 3)

Best Music
Sajid Wajid (Dabangg)
Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy (My Name Is Khan)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan (Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji, Ishqiya)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Shreya Ghoshal (Bahara, I Hate Luv Storys)

Best New Talent In Music
Mamta Sharma (Munni Badnaam, Dabangg)

Best Lyrics
Gulzar (Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji, Ishqiya)

Most Promising Newcomer (Male)
Ranveer Singh (Band Baaja Baaraat)

Most Promising Newcomer (Female)
Sonakshi Sinha (Dabangg)

Most Promising Debut Director
Maneesh Sharma (Band Baaja Baaraat)

Best Story
Amit Rai (Road To Sangam)

Best Choreography
Farah Khan (Munni Badnaam, Dabangg)

Most Popular Music
Pritam (Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai)

Best Ensemble Cast
Peepli [Live]

Best Art Direction
Mukund Gupta, Do Dooni Chaar

Best Action
Master Vijayan, Dabangg

Best Dialogue
Habib Faisal, Band Baaja Baraat

Best Screenplay
Anjum Rajabali, Prakash Jha, Raajneeti

Best Child Artist
Ayaan Barodia, Udaan

Best Editing
Namrata Rao, Band Baaja Baraat

Best Background Score
Wayne Sharp, Raajneeti

Best Special Effects
Srinivas Mohan, Robot

Best Sound
Vikram Joglekar, Road Movie

Best Cinematography
Sudeep Chatterji, Guzaarish

Ramnath Goenka Memorial Awards
My Name Is Khan

Special Jury Awards For Spectacular Cutting Of Age Technology

No comments:

Post a Comment