Saturday, November 12, 2011

2011 Aotearoa Film & Television Awards (AFTAs) - winners

The 2011 Aotearoa Film & Television Awards (AFTAs) to honour film/TV in New Zealand took place tonight at the Viaduct Events Centre in Auckland. Florian Habicht's film Love Story was the top prize-winner with Best Feature Film as well as Best Director and Best Editing.

Jason Stutter's Predicament had led with 11 nominations and came away with the most awards, capturing a total of six. It won for Cinematography, Original Music, Production Design, Costume Design, Make-up Design and Visual Effects. 

A number of films were double winners. The Insatiable Moon took two acting prizes -- Best Lead Actor (Rawiri Paratene) and Best Supporting Actor (Greg Johnson). My Wedding And Other Secrets won Best Screenplay (Roseanne Liang, Angeline Loo) and Best Lead Actress (Michelle Ang). The short film Ebony Society won Best Short Film and Best Screenplay for a Short Film.

For television, Bloodlines picked up three awards for Best Actor, Supporting Actor and Director. This Is Not My Life also won three awards for Best Drama Programme, Original Music and Production Design. Legend of the Seeker was another triple-winner for Cinematography, Sound Design and Contribution to Design.

3 News picked up three awards for its reporting on the Christchurch Earthquake and an additional craft award for Best News Camera.

The 24 categories in the Aotearoa Film & Television Craft Awards were handed out on Thursday, November 10 at a luncheon held in Auckland’s Viaduct Harbour. The remaining 37 awards were handed out on Saturday night.


Complete list of winners for the 2011 Aotearoa Film & Television Awards (AFTAs)

Best Feature Film
Love Story 

Outstanding Feature Film Debut
The Hopes & Dreams of Gazza Snell

Best Director in a Feature Film

Florian Habicht - Love Story

Best Lead Actor in a Feature Film

Rawiri Paratene - The Insatiable Moon

Best Lead Actress in a Feature Film

Michelle Ang - My Wedding And Other Secrets

Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film

Greg Johnson - The Insatiable Moon

Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film

Sara Wiseman - Matariki

Best Screenplay for a Feature Film

Roseanne Liang & Angeline Loo - My Wedding And Other Secrets

Best Cinematography in a Feature Film

Simon Raby - Predicament

Best Editing in a Feature Film

Peter O'Donoghue - Love Story

Best Original Music in a Feature Film

Plan 9 - Predicament

Images & Sound Best Sound in a Feature Film

Dick Reade & Gethin Creagh - After the Waterfall

Best Production Design in a Feature Film

John Harding - Predicament

Best Costume Design in a Feature Film

Lesley Burkes-Harding - Predicament

Best Make-Up Design in a Feature Film

Angela Mooar - Predicament

Best Visual Effects in a Feature Film

Sauce VFX - Predicament

Best Short Film

Ebony Society - Stan Strong

Best Performance in a Short Film

Peter Hawes - BIRD

Best Screenplay for a Short Film

Tammy Davis - Ebony Society

Outstanding Technical Contribution to a Short Film

Maria-Elena Doyle - Meniscus

Best Arts/Festival/Feature Documentary 
I am the River - Razor

Best Popular Documentary or Documentary Series

Jesus, The Cold Case - Red Sky Film & Television

Best Director Documentary

Annie Goldson - Brother Number One

Best Cinematography Documentary/Factual

David Paul - The Banker, The Escorts, And The $18 Million

Best Editing Documentary/Factual

Annie Collins - The Waterfall

Qantas Best News
One News

Best News or Current Affairs Presenter

Hilary Barry - 3 News

Best News Reporting

Hamish Clark - 3 News

Journalist of the Year

Hamish Clark, 3 News

Best Current Affairs Reporting for a weekly programme or one-off current affairs special

Amanda Millar & Joanne Mitchell - Sunday

Best Current Affairs Reporting for a daily programme

Mark Crysell & Kate McCallum - Close Up

Best Current Affairs Series

Native Affairs - Colin McRae

Investigation of the Year

John Campbell, Pip Keane & Claudine MacLean - Campbell Live, The Tsunami Aid Money Investigation

Best News Camera

Cameron Williams, 3 News - Niger Series/Airline Investigation

Best Current Affairs Camera

Martin Anderson, 20/20 - Rite of Passage

Best News Editing

Paul Sparkes, One News - Special Report CCTV

Best Current Affairs Editing

Nick Reid, 20/20 - Sitting on a Killer

Images & Sound Best Drama Programme

This Is Not My Life - Desert Road

NZ On Air Best Comedy OR Comedy Series

7 Days - MediaWorks

Maori Language Commission/Te Mangai Paho Best Maori Language Programme

E Tu Kahikatea Te Noni

Best Children's/Youth Programme

Kaitangata Twitch -

Best Information Programme

Whare Maori, Episode one - Kainga Scottie Productions

Auckland Council Best Entertainment/Factual Entertainment Programme

MasterChef New Zealand - Imagination Television

Kordia Best Multi-cam Broadcast

Rise Up Christchurch: Global Telethon - Commotion TV

Best Observational Reality Series

The Secret Lives of Dancers - Eyeworks New Zealand

Best Constructed Reality Series

Missing Pieces - Eyeworks New Zealand

Best Performance by an Actress

Madeleine Sami - Super City

Best Performance by a Supporting Actress

Rena Owen - Shortland Street

Best Performance by an Actor

Mark Mitchinson - Bloodlines

Best Performance by a Supporting Actor

Craig Hall - Bloodlines

Best Presenter -Entertainment/Factual

Jeremy Corbett - 7 Days

Best Script - Drama/Comedy

James Griffin - Outrageous Fortune

Images & Sound Best Director - Drama/Comedy

Peter Burger - Bloodlines

Best Director - Entertainment/Factual

Dean Cornish & Nick Dwyer, Two Heads & Like Rice - Making Tracks

Kordia Best Multi-camera Direction

Darryl McEwen - MasterChef New Zealand

Best Cinematography Drama/Comedy

Kevin Riley - Legend of the Seeker

Images & Sound Best Editing Drama/Comedy

Allanah Milne - Stolen

Best Original Music

Don McGlashan - This Is Not My Life

Best Sound Design

Chris Burt - Legend of the Seeker

Best Production Design

Tracey Collins - This Is Not My Life

Best Contribution to Design

Jane Holland - Legend of the Seeker

No comments:

Post a Comment