Saturday, February 12, 2011

8th Annual Irish Film and Television Awards (IFTA) - winners

The Irish Film and Television Academy held its 8th Annual Irish Film and Television Awards ceremony tonight at the Convention Centre Dublin.

Juanita Wilson’s Bosnian War drama As If I Am Not There won three awards -- Best Film, Director and Screenplay. It had led with six nominations.

The Tudors producer Morgan O'Sullivan was honoured with the Outstanding Contribution to Industry Award for his achievements and contribution to the Irish film and television community. He is credited with bringing productions such as Braveheart, Saving Private Ryan, and Camelot to Ireland.

O'Sullivan's Canada/Ireland co-production The Tudors picked up three awards for Best Drama Series, Costume Design and Make-up/Hair.

In addition to winning Best TV Actor, Domhnall Gleeson won the Rising Star Award for his work in True Grit and Sensation. He was up against actress Antonia Campbell Hughes, writer/director Ian Power and writer/director Juanita Wilson.

In the International Categories, The Social Network picked up wins for Best International Film and International Actor (Jesse Eisenberg). The International Actress award went to Annette Bening for The Kids are All Right

Complete list of winners for the 8th Annual Irish Film and Television Awards


As If I Am Not There - James Flynn (Octagon Films)

Director Film
Juanita Wilson - As If I Am Not There (Octagon Films)

Script Film
Juanita Wilson - As If I Am Not There (Octagon Films)

Actor in a Lead Role - Film
Martin McCann - Swansong: Story of Occi Byrne (Zanzibar Films)

Actress in a Lead Role - Film / Television*
Amy Huberman - Rewind (Carbon Films)

Actor in a Supporting Role - Film
Pierce Brosnan - The Ghost (Element Pictures Distribution)

Actress in a Supporting Role - Film
Saoirse Ronan - The Way Back (Exclusive Films)

The George Morrison Feature Documentary Award
The Pipe – Risteard Ó'Domhnaill& Rachel Lysaght (ScannáinInbhearTeo)


International Film
The Social Network (Sony)

International Actor
Jesse Esienberg - The Social Network (Sony)

International Actress 
Annette Bening - The Kids are All Right (Universal)


Single Drama / Drama Serial (sponsored by BAI)
When Harvey Met Bob - Catherine Magee (Great Meadow Productions)

Drama Series / Soap (sponsored by BAI)
The Tudors - Morgan O'Sullivan (World 2000 Entertainment)

Director Television
Dearbhla Walsh - The Silence (Company Pictures & BBC)

Writer Television
Stuart Carolan - Love/Hate (Octagon Films)

Actor in a Lead Role - Television
Domhnall Gleeson - When Harvey Met Bob (Great Meadow Productions)

Actress in a Lead Role -Film/Television*
Amy Huberman - Rewind (Carbon Films)

Actor in a Supporting Role - Television
Stephen Rea - Single-Handed (Touchpaper Television)

Actress in a Supporting Role - Television
Ruth McCabe - Single-Handed (Touchpaper Television)

CRAFT / TECHNICAL CATEGORIES (across film and television)

Costume Design 

Joan Bergin - The Tudors (World 2000 Entertainment)

Director of Photography
PJ Dillon - The Runway (Fastnet Films)

Emer Reynolds - My Brothers (Rubicon Films)

Make Up & Hair (Sponsored by MAC)
Tom McInerney, Dee Corcoran - The Tudors (World 2000 Entertainment)

Original Score
Ray Harman - Na Cloigne (ROSG)

Production Design
Ray Ball - The Runway (Fastnet Films)

The Silence - Karl Merren, Ken Galvin, Peter Blayney (Company Pictures)


Children’s / Youth Programme
Big City Park -Colin Williams (Sixteen South Television)

Current Affairs
Spotlight: The Iris Robinson Investigation – Darragh MacIntyre (BBC NI)

Documentary Series
Freefall: The Night The Banks Failed - Janet Traynor (Animo)

Voices From The Grave - Patrick Farrelly & Ed Moloney (Deer Lake Films)

Entertainment Programme
Your Bad Self – John Butler (Treasure Entertainment)

Factual Programme
Operation Transformation – Philip Kampf (RTÉ)

Sports Programme
In Sunshine Or In Shadow - Andrew Gallimore (Fastnet Films)

Special Irish Language Award 
1916 Seachtar na Cásca - Pierce Boyce (Abú Media)

The External World - Ines Schiller, David O'Reilly

Short Film
Small Change – Cathy Brady (Cherry RED Pictures)

Rising Star Award
Domhnall Gleeson, True Grit, Sensation

Outstanding Contribution to Industry
Morgan O'Sullivan


RTÉ Guide Best TV Moment of 2010 – People’s Choice

The Republic of Telly premieres The Rubber Bandits Horse Outside (RTÉ)

No comments:

Post a Comment