Sunday, February 6, 2011

15th Art Directors Guild (ADG) Awards - winners

Saturday night, the Art Directors Guild (ADG) held their 15th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards ceremony. For film, the three categories are Period, Fantasy and Contemporary. The Period category was won by Eve Stewart for Oscar-frontrunner The King's Speech. It edged out fellow nominees True Grit, Shutter Island, Robin Hood and Get Low.

For Fantasy Films, the winner was Guy Hendrix Dyas for Inception. Its competition had been Alice in Wonderland, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1, Tron: Legacy and The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

In the contemporary category, Therese DePrez won for her work on Black Swan, beating out critical darling The Social Network, as well as The Fighter, The Town, and 127 Hours. This was a bittersweet victory for DePrez as she was a surprising omission in the Academy Awards nominations.

Television winners included Dan Bishop (Mad Men), Robb Wilson King (Secrets in the Wall) and Richard Berg (Modern Family).

Honourary awards given by the ADG were the Lifetime Achievement Award to production designer Patricia Norris and an award for Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery to Syd Dutton and Bill Taylor. Alexander Golitzen, Albert Heschong and Eugène Lourié were inducted into the ADG Hall of Fame.

Complete list of winners for the ADG 15th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards


Period Film
The King's Speech
Production Designer: Eve Stewart

Fantasy Film
Production Designer: Guy Hendrix Dyas

Contemporary Film
Black Swan
Production Designer: Therese DePrez


Single Camera Television Series
Mad Men 
Episode: Public Relations
Production Designer: Dan Bishop

Television Movie or Mini-Series
Secrets in the Wall
Production Designer: Robb Wilson King

Episode of a Half Hour Single-Camera Television Series
Modern Family
Episode: Halloween
Production Designer: Richard Berg

Episode of a Multi-Camera, Variety, or Unscripted Series
Saturday Night Live
Episode: Betty White/Jay Z
Production Designer: Keith Raywood, Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, N. Joseph DeTullio

Awards, Music, or Game Shows
82nd Annual Academy Awards
Production Designer: David Rockwell

Dos Equis
Commercial: Ice Fishing
Production Designer: Jesse B. Benson

No comments:

Post a Comment