Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Short lists announced for short film Oscars - animated and live action

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) today announced their short list of contenders in the two Short Film categories. Ten animated shorts in each category were selected from the thirty-three qualifying animated entries and the seventy-six qualifying live action entries. The films were chosen by the Short Films and Feature Animation Branch Reviewing Committee, and will be further whittled down to the final three to five nominations per category on January 25th when all the nominees are announced.

Included in the animated short film list are studio films such as Pixar's Day & Night and Warner Brothers' latest Roadrunner cartoon Coyote Falls. Also shortlisted in the Animated Feature category for Idiots and Angels, director Bill Plympton made the short film shortlist for The Cow Who Wanted to Be a Hamburger.

The 83rd Annual Academy Awards presentation takes place on February 27th, 2011.

Short list for Best Animated Short:

The Cow Who Wanted to Be a Hamburger

Bill Plympton, director (Bill Plympton Studio)

Coyote Falls

Matthew O’Callaghan, director and Sam Register, executive producer (Warner Bros. Animation Inc.)

Day & Night

Teddy Newton, director (Pixar Animation Studios)

The Gruffalo
Jakob Schuh and Max Lang, directors (Magic Light Pictures)

Let’s Pollute

Geefwee Boedoe, story-design-animation (Geefwee Boedoe)

The Lost Thing

Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann, directors (Passion Pictures Australia)

Madagascar, Carnet de Voyage (Madagascar, a Journey Diary)

Bastien Dubois, director (Sacrebleu Productions)


Michel Gagne, director-producer (GAGNE International LLC)

The Silence Beneath the Bark

Joanna Lurie, director (Lardux Films)


Moritz Mayerhofer, director (Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg)

Short list for Best Live Action Short

Ana’s Playground

Eric D. Howell, director (StoryForge, LLC)

The Confession

Tanel Toom, director (National Film and Television School)

The Crush

Michael Creagh, director (Purdy Pictures)

God of Love

Luke Matheny, director (Luke Matheny)

Na Wewe

Ivan Goldschmidt, director-producer (CUT!)

Seeds of the Fall

Patrik Eklund, director, and Mathias Fjellstrom, producer (Direktorn & Fabrikorn)


Nick Kelly, director, and Seamus Byrne, producer (Zanita Films)

The Six Dollar Fifty Man

Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland, directors (Sticky Pictures Ltd.)

Sma Barn, Stora Ord (Little Children, Big Words)

Lisa James Larsson, director and Andreas Emanuelsson, producer (Bob Film Sweden AB)

Wish 143

Ian Barnes, director, and Samantha Waite, producer (Swing and Shift Films/Union Pictures)

No comments:

Post a Comment