Saturday, November 6, 2010

2010 European Film Award Nominations announced

Today at the Seville European Film Festival, the European Film Academy and EFA Productions announced the nominees for the 2010 European Film Awards. Roman Polanski's The Ghost Writer led with a total of 7 nominations for best film, director, screenplay, cinematography, actor, production designer and composer. The other nominees for Best European Film were Bal (Honey), Des Hommes et Des Dieux (Of Gods and Men), Lebanon, El Secreto de Sus Ojos (The Secret in their Eyes), and Soul Kitchen. Surprisingly, Olivier Assayas lengthy epic Carlos was not nominated for the top award but it did receive nominations for directing and editing.

Many of the nominees are already prize-winners from festivals and other awards ceremonies. Des Hommes et Des Dieux (Of Gods and Men) won the Grand Prix at the Cannes Film Festival while Lebanon took the Golden Lion and the Nazareno Taddei Award at Venice in 2009. The excellent film El Secreto de Sus Ojos (The Secret in their Eyes) was the surprise winner of the Best Foreign Language Film at the 2010 Academy Awards for Argentina (it is also nominated here as it is a co-production with Spain). Cell 211 was the big winner at Spain's Goya Awards. Two weeks ago Submarino won the 2010 Nordic Council Film Prize, the top Scandinavian film award. 
The European Film Awards will be selected by the 2,300 members of the European Film Academy and presented during the European Film Awards Ceremony in Tallinn, Estonia, on Saturday December, 4 2010.

Complete list of nominations for the 2010 European Film Awards:

European Film
Bal (Honey)
, by Semih Kaplanoglu (Turkey/Germany)
Des Hommes et Des Dieux (Of Gods and Men), directed by Xavier Beauvois (France)
The Ghost Writer, by Roman Polanski (France/Germany/UK)
Lebanon, by Samuel Maoz (Israel/Germany/France)
El Secreto de Sus Ojos (The Secret in their Eyes), by Juan Jose Campanella (Spain/Argentina)
Soul Kitchen, by Fatih Akin (Germany)

European Director
Olivier Assayas, Carlos
Semih Kaplanoglu, Bal
Samuel Maoz, Lebanon
Roman Polanski, The Ghost Writer
Paolo Virzi, La Prima Cosa Bella

European Actress
Zrinka Cvitesic, Na Putu
Sibel Kekilli, Die Fremde
Lesley Manville, Another Year
Sylvie Testud, Lourdes
Lotte Verbeek, Nothing Personal

European Actor

Jakob Cedergren, Submarino
Elio Germano, La Nostra Vita
Ewan McGregor, The Ghost Writer
George Pistereanu, If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle
Luis Tosar, Cell 211

European Screenwriter
Jorge Guerricaechevarria & Daniel Monzon, Cell 211
Robert Harris & Roman Polanski, The Ghost Writer
Samuel Maoz, Lebanon
Radu Mihaileanu, The Concert

Carlo di Palma European Cinematographer Award
Giora Bejach, Lebanon
Caroline Champetier for, Des Hommes et Des Dieux
Pavel Kostomarov, How I Ended this Summer
Barıs Ozbicer, Bal

European Editor
Luc Barnier & Marion Monnier, Carlos
Arik Lahav-Leibovich, Lebanon
Herve de Luze, The Ghost Writer

European Production Designer
Paola Bizzarri & Luis Ramirez, I, Don Giovanni
Albrecht Konrad, The Ghost Writer
Markku Paetilae & Jaagup Roomer, The Temptation of St. Tony

European Composer
Ales Brezina, Kawasaki’s Rose
Pasquale Catalano, Loose Cannons
Alexandre Desplat, The Ghost Writer
Gary Yershon, Another Year

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
La Doppia Ora (The Double Hour)
, by Giuseppe Capotondi
Eu Cand Vreau sa Fluier, Fluier (If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle), by Florin Serban
Die Fremde (When We Leave), by Feo Aladag
Lebanon, by Samuel Maoz
Nothing Personal, by Urszula Antoniak

EFA Documentary - PRIX ARTE
Armadillo, by Janus Metz
Miesten Vuoro(Steam of Life), by Joonas Berghäll & Mika Hotakainen
Nostagia de la Luz (Nostalgia for the Light), by Patricio Guzmán

EFA Animated Feature Film
The Illusionist
, by Sylvain Chomet
Planet 51, by Jorge Blanco, Javier Abad and Marcos Martínez
Sammy's Adventures: The Secret Passage, by Ben Stassen

EFA Short Film
Amor, by Thomas Wangsmo
Ampelmann (Lights), by Giulio Ricciarelli
Les Escargots de Joseph (Joseph’s Snails), by Sophie Roze
Blijf Bij Me, Weg (Stay, Away), by Paloma Aguilera Valdebenito
Ønskebørn (Out of Love), by Birgitte Stærmose
Venus vs Me, by Nathalie Teirlinck
Lumikko (The Little Snow Animal), by Miia Tervo
Tussilago, by Jonas Odell
Hanoi - Warszawa (Hanoi - Warsaw), by Katarzyna Klimkiewicz
Maria's Way, by Anne Milne
Talleres Clandestinos, by Catalina Molina
Rendez-vous à Stella-Plage (Rendezvous in Stella-Plage), by Shalimar Preuss
Diarchia (Diarchy), by Ferdinando Cito Filomarino
The External World, by David OReilly
Itt Vagyok (Here I Am), by Bálint Szimler

No comments:

Post a Comment