Wednesday, January 6, 2016

The American Society of Cinematographers announces 2016 ASC Awards nominees

The American Society of Cinematographers have announced their film nominees for their 30th ASC Awards.

“Our members have spoken with a fabulous group of choices,” says ASC President Richard Crudo. “The quality of the work is astounding, and it’s great to see we’re once again at the forefront of giving recognition where it’s due.”

“Each of the nominated films represents a different genre and a masterfully distinct visual style,” notes ASC Awards Chairman Daryn Okada. “We look forward to celebrating the extraordinary accomplishments of these nominees in February.”

The ASC has nominated Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC; Janusz Kaminski; Ed Lachman, ASC; Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC, and John Seale, ASC, ACS, for the ASC Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography in a Theatrical Release.

The winner will be announced Feb. 14 at the 30th ASC Awards ceremony.

The nominated films are:

  • Sicario, Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC

  • Bridge of Spies, Janusz Kaminski

  • Carol, Ed Lachman, ASC

  • The Revenant, Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC

  • Mad Max: Fury Road, John Seale, ASC, ACS

  • This is Deakins’ 14th ASC nomination. He won for Skyfall, The Shawshank Redemption and The Man Who Wasn’t There, and was also nominated for Unbroken, Prisoners, True Grit, The Reader (shared with Chris Menges, ASC, BSC), Revolutionary Road, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, No Country for Old Men, Kundun, Fargo and O Brother, Where Art Thou?

    This is Kaminski’s sixth ASC nomination, following Lincoln, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, Saving Private Ryan, Amistad and Schindler’s List.

    Lachman has been nominated for ASC Awards twice previously, in the theatrical-release category for Far from Heaven and in the MOW/miniseries category for HBO’s Mildred Pierce.

    Lubezki has won the ASC Award in this category four times, for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Gravity, The Tree of Life and Children of Men. He was also nominated for Sleepy Hollow.

    This is Seale’s fifth ASC nomination. He won for The English Patient and received additional nominations for Cold Mountain, The Perfect Storm and Rain Man.

    Previously in November, the ASC announced their nominees for television. Those nominees are as follows:

    Episode of a Regular Series:
    Vanja Cernjul, ASC, HFS, Marco Polo, “The Fourth Step” (Netflix)
    David Greene, CSC, 12 Monkeys, “Mentally Divergent” (SyFy)
    Christopher Norr, Gotham, “Strike Force” (Fox)
    Crescenzo Notarile, ASC, AIC, Gotham, “Scarification” (Fox)
    Fabian Wagner, BSC, Game of Thrones, “Hardhome” (HBO)

    Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot:
    Martin Ahlgren, Blindspot pilot (NBC)
    Pierre Gill, CSC, Casanova pilot (Amazon)
    James Hawkinson, The Man in the High Castle pilot (Amazon)
    Jeffrey Jur, ASC, Bessie (HBO)
    Romain Lacourbas, Marco Polo pilot (Netflix)

    No comments:

    Post a Comment