Wednesday, January 7, 2015

29th annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards – nominations

Five directors of photography will vie for the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Award in the theatrical motion picture category at the organization’s 29th Outstanding Achievement Awards ceremony. “These nominees represent a fabulous slate selected from a particularly rich field of work this year,” says ASC President Richard Crudo. “It’s amazing how these cinematographers have once again redefined the boundaries of what we do.”

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For additional information about the ASC, visit Join ASC on Facebook at and American Cinematographer magazine fan page at

The nominees are:

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Unbroken

Óscar Faura for The Imitation Game

Emmanuel Lubezki ASC, AMC for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Dick Pope, BSC for Mr. Turner

Robert D. Yeoman, ASC for The Grand Budapest Hotel

The winner will be revealed on February 15 during the annual ASC Awards gala at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

This is Deakins’ 13th ASC nomination. He previously won for Skyfall (2013), The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). His other nominations include Fargo (1997), Kundun (1998), O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2001), No Country for Old Men (2008), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2008), Revolutionary Road (2009), The Reader (2009), True Grit (2011) and Prisoners (2014). He was also the recipient of the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Lubezki won the ASC Award last year for Gravity. He also took home top honors for The Tree of Life (2012) and Children of Men (2007), and was nominated in 2000 for Sleepy Hollow.

Pope previously earned a nomination for The Illusionist (2007).

These are the first ASC nominations for Faura and Yeoman.

Previously announced television nominees

Episode of a Regular Series
PJ Dillon, Vikings, “Blood Eagle” (History)
Jonathan Freeman, ASC, Boardwalk Empire, “Golden Days for Boys and Girls” (HBO)
Anette Haellmigk, Game of Thrones, “The Children” (HBO)
Christopher Norr, Gotham, “Spirit of the Goat” (Fox)
Richard Rutkowski, Manhattan, “Perestroika” (WGN America)
Fabian Wagner, BSC, Game of Thrones, “Mockingbird” (HBO)

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot
David Greene, CSC, The Trip to Bountiful (Lifetime)
John Lindley, ASC, Manhattan pilot (WGN America)
David Stockton, ASC, Gotham pilot (Fox)
Theo van de Sande, ASC, Deliverance Creek (Lifetime)

No comments:

Post a Comment