Monday, January 20, 2014

Producers Guild of America's 25th Annual PGA Awards – winners

Last night the Producers Guild of America held their 25th Annual PGA Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

The evening culminated with an unprecedented and surprising tie between two Oscar favourites, Gravity and 12 Years a Slave. This has been a tight awards-season with many prestige films and many contenders, and the two shared winners were considered joint frontrunners along with David O. Russell's American Hustle. What makes a tie so extremely unlikely is that the PGA is a large organization with over 6,000 members, and that they use a preferential voting system similar to what the Academy uses.

Alfonso Cuaron and David Heyman accepted on behalf of Gravity, while Brad Pitt was joined by director/producer Steve McQueen along with producers Anthony Katagas and Jeremy Kleiner.

The Documentary winner was Alex Gibney's We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks. For Animated Motion Picture, the winner was the 3D Disney film Frozen.

On the television side, winners included Steven Soderbergh's Behind the Candelabra and the series Breaking Bad and Modern Family.

Nominations list for the 25th Annual PGA Awards

Complete list of winners for the 25th Annual PGA Awards

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures – TIE
Gravity: Producers: Alfonso Cuaron, David Heyman
12 Years a Slave: Producers: Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures
We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks; Producers: Alexis Bloom, Alex Gibney, Marc Shmuger

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
Frozen: Producer: Peter Del Vecho

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television
Behind the Candelabra: Producers: Susan Ekins, Gregory Jacobs, Michael Polaire, Jerry Weintraub

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama
Breaking Bad: Producers: Melissa Bernstein, Sam Catlin, Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Mark Johnson, Stewart Lyons, Michelle MacLaren, George Mastras, Diane Mercer, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy
Modern Family: Producers: Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Elaine Ko, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeffrey Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (CNN); Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig
Forest Whitaker+21

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment and Talk Television
The Colbert Report: Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen T. Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television
The Voice: Producers: Stijn Bakkers, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Chad Hines, Lee Metzger, Audrey Morrissey, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Nicolle Yaron, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program
SportsCenter (ESPN)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program
Sesame Street (PBS)

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series
Wired: What’s Inside (


The Milestone Award
Robert Iger

The David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures
Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli

The Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television
Chuck Lorre

The Visionary Award
Chris Meladandri

The Stanley Kramer Award
Nina Yang Bongiovi and Forest Whitaker

The Vanguard Award
Peter Jackson, Joe Letteri and WETA Digital

No comments:

Post a Comment