Sunday, December 18, 2011

2011 IPA Satellite Awards - winners

The International Press Academy today held their ceremony for the 16th annual Satellite Awards (formerly the Golden Satellite Awards) in Beverly Hills, California.

The top prize of Best Picture went to Alexander Payne's delicate dramedy The Descendants. It also won for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Nicolas Winding Refn's Drive, however, came away with more prizes. It won Best Director, Actor (Ryan Gosling), Supporting Actor (Albert Brooks) and Sound. Drive and Steven Spielberg's War Horse each led with eight nominations. The only award for War Horse though was for Cinematography.

The Tree of Life picked up two awards. Jessica Chastain was recognized as Supporting Actress, while Terrence Malick won for Original Screenplay.

Viola Davis was named Best Actress for her role in The Help. The film was also announced previously as the recipient of an award for Best Ensemble.

The current awards-season favourite The Artist picked up just a single award for Art Direction.

The late Raoul Ruiz' Mysteries of Lisbon was named Best Foreign Film. Steven Spielberg's The Adventures of Tintin took Best Animated or Mixed Media Film. Asif Kapadia's Senna was declared Best Documentary.


Complete list of winners for the 16th Annual Satellite Awards

Best Picture
The Descendants

Best Actor
Ryan Gosling, Drive

Best Actress
Viola Davis, The Help

Best Supporting Actor
Albert Brooks, Drive

Best Supporting Actress
Jessica Chastain, The Tree of Life

Best Director
Nicolas Winding Refn, Drive

Best Foreign Film
Mysteries of Lisbon

Best Animated or Mixed Media Film
The Adventures of Tintin

Best Documentary

Best Original Screenplay
Terrence Malick, The Tree of Life

Best Adapted Screenplay
Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash, The Descendants

Best Original Score
Soul Surfer

Best Original Song
"Lay Your Head Down" (Albert Nobbs)

Best Cinematography
War Horse

Best Visual Effects

Best Film Editing
The Guard

Best Sound

Best Art Direction
The Artist

Best Costume Design
Water For Elephants

Previously Announced Awards

Mary Pickford Award
For Outstanding Artistic Contribution To The Entertainment Industry
Mitzi Gaynor

Nikola Tesla Award
In Recognition Of Visionary Achievement In Filmmaking Technology
Douglas Trumbull

Auteur Award
Peter Bogdanovich

Humanitarian Award
Tim Hetherington (1970-2011)

Best Ensemble, Motion Picture
The Help Dreamworks/Touchstone

Best First Feature
Paddy Considine, Tyrannosaur Strand Releasing

No comments:

Post a Comment