Sunday, June 12, 2011

38th Annual Student Academy Awards - medalists

After announcing the winners for the 38th Annual Student Academy Awards, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) held a ceremony at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater to present them with their awards and to reveal their placement as winners of Gold, Silver or Bronze medals.

The Gold Medal in the Narrative category was Julian Higgins' Thief. It tells the story of a boy who befriends a young Saddam Hussein, and who meets him again forty years later. Higgins attended the American Film Institute in California.

The Foreign Student Film category was won by Norway's Tuba Atlantic by Hallvar Witzo. For Animation, their was a tie. Zach Hyer's Correspondence and Dragonboy by Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang were co-winners of the Gold Medal. Wonjung Bae's Vera Klement: Blunt Edge was the Gold medalist for Documentary. The additional Alternative category only had one finalist, The Vermeers, which of course took a Gold Medal.

The presenters were Jennifer Garner, producer Edward Zwick and animator John Musker, who joined Academy president Tom Sherak.


Complete list of the winners of the 38th Annual Student Academy Awards

Alternative category

Gold Medal: The Vermeers, by Tal S. Shamir, The New School, New York

Animation category

Gold Medal (tie): Correspondence, Zach Hyer, Pratt Institute, New York; and Dragonboy, Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang, Academy of Art University, California
Bronze Medal: Defective Detective, Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida

Documentary category

Gold Medal: Vera Klement: Blunt Edge, Wonjung Bae, Columbia College Chicago
Silver Medal: Imaginary Circumstances, Anthony Weeks, Stanford University
Bronze Medal: Sin Pais (Without Country), Theo Rigby, Stanford University

Narrative category

Gold Medal: Thief, Julian Higgins, American Film Institute, California
Silver Medal: High Maintenance, Shawn Wines, Columbia University
Bronze Medal: Fatakra, Soham Mehta, University of Texas at Austin

Foreign Student Film category

Gold Medal: Tuba Atlantic, Hallvar Witzo, The Norwegian Film School, Norway
Silver Medal: Bekas, Karzan Kader, Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts, Sweden
Bronze Medal: Raju, Max Zaehle, Hamburg Media School, Germany

No comments:

Post a Comment