Friday, May 20, 2011

Cinéfondation Prizes 2011 - winners

The awards for the student films of the Cinéfondation section of the 64th Festival de Cannes were announced today by the jury headed by Michel Gondry.

The First Prize went to Der Brief (The Letter) by Doroteya Droumeva from Germany. The Second Prize winner was French director Kamal Lazraq's Drari. The Third Prize was given to Ya-gan-bi-hang (Fly by Night) by South Korea's Son Tae-gyum.

Each award comes with a cash prize, with € 15,000 going to the First Prize, € 11,250 for the Second and € 7,500 for the Third.

Yesterday, the winners for the 50th Semaine Internationale de la Critique (International Critics' Week) were announced. The 64th Festival de Cannes continues until Sunday, May 22.


Cinéfondation Prizes 2011 awarded today by Michel Gondry and his Jury

The Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury (Julie Gayet, Jessica Hausner, Corneliu Porumboiu, João Pedro Rodrigues and President Michel Gondry) has awarded the Cinéfondation Prizes during a ceremony in Buñuel Theatre before the screening of the winning films.

Sixteen student films coming from Asia, America and Europe composed this year’s program. They have been selected out of 1,600 entries.

First Prize:
Der Brief (The Letter)
directed by Doroteya Droumeva
dffb, Germany

Second Prize:
directed by Kamal Lazraq
La fémis, France

Third Prize:
Ya-gan-bi-hang (Fly by Night)

directed by Son Tae-gyum
Chung-Ang University, South Korea

The awarded films will receive € 15,000 for the First Prize, € 11,250 for the Second and € 7,500 for the Third.

Created in 1998, the Cinéfondation Selection has showcased student films by directors who are back in Cannes this year with a feature film: Frederikke Aspöck (Labrador), Catalin Mitulescu (Loverboy), Juliana Rojas and Marco Dutra (Trabalhar Cansa), Roland Edzard (La fin du silence), Vimukthi Jayasundara (Chatrak), Hagar Ben Asher (The Slut).

Films by directors having participated in the Residence and the Atelier of the Cinéfondation are also present in the Cannes selections: Skoonheid by Oliver Hermanus, Bonsái by Cristián Jiménez, Et maintenant on va où ? by Nadine Labaki, Miss Bala by Gerardo Naranjo, O Abismo Prateado by Karim Aïnouz, The Other Side of Sleep by Rebecca Daly, Porfirio by Alejandro Landes, Yeke Varune by Shahrbanoo Sadat, Code Blue by Urszula Antoniak.

No comments:

Post a Comment