Thursday, May 19, 2011

Cannes Semaine de la Critique (Critics' Week) - award winners

Tonight at the Festival de Cannes, the sidebar 50th Semaine Internationale de la Critique (International Critics' Week) announced its award winners.

The Grand Prix winner was American filmmaker Jeff Nichols' Take Shelter which stars Michael Shannon and Jessica Chastain. It also won the Prix SACD given by the Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques (Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers).

The Cannes Semaine de la Critique jury was led by South Korean filmmaker Lee Chang-dong and comprised of four critics, Scott Foundas (Film Comment Magazine, U.S.), Nick James (Sight and Sound, U.K.), Cristina Piccino (Il Manifesto, Italy) et Sergio Wolf (El Amante, Argentina). The jurors for the Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques (SACD) were Laurent Heynemann, Gerard Krawczyk, Christine Laurent, Benjamin Legrand and Bertrand Tavernier.

Australia's Justin Kurzel received a President's Special Mention for Snowtown.

Pablo Giorgelli's Las Acacias was also a double winner. It received the Soutien ACID/CCAS and the Prix OFAJ de la (Toute) jeune Critique. For the Association du cinema Indépendant pour sa Diffusion (ACID) and Caisse Centrale d'Activité Sociale (CCAS), the jury members were Gilles Porte, Malta Chiara, Roberto Garzelli, and Sophie Letourneur Claude Duty (directors members of ACID (Association of Independent Cinema for its Distribution) and Anna Defendini (representative of the CCAS). The Jeune Critique jurors were French and German students.

The short film Grand Prix winners was
Stephan Kang's Blue. The jury for the Kodak Discovery award given to Dimanches (Sunday) consisted of Jerzy Skolimowski (President), Gitanjali Rao (director, India), Àlvaro Brechner (director, Urugyat) Sylvie Pras (Head of Film Programming at the Centre Pompidou, France), Huh Moonyung (programmer at the Busan International Film Festival in South Korea). The Special Mention for short film given to Alexis Ivanovitch vous êtes mon héros was selected by the SACD jury.


Complete list of award-winners for the 50th Semaine Internationale de la Critique at Cannes

Feature Films

Grand Prix Nespresso de la Semaine de la Critique

Take Shelter, Jeff Nichols (USA)

Mention spéciale du Président 

Snowtown (Les Crimes de Snowtown), Justin Kurzel (Australia)


Take Shelter, Jeff Nichols (USA)


Las Acacias, Pablo Giorgelli (Argentina)

Prix OFAJ de la (Toute) jeune Critique
Las Acacias, Pablo Giorgelli (Argentina)

Short Film

Grand Prix Canal+ du court métrage

Blue, Stephan Kang (New Zealand)

Prix Découverte Kodak du court métrage

Dimanches (Sunday), Valérie Rosier (Belgium)

Special Mention

Alexis Ivanovitch vous êtes mon héros, Guillaume Gouix (France)

No comments:

Post a Comment