Sunday, December 12, 2010

2010 Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) Awards

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) Awards were announced on Sunday and The Social Network was named Best Picture. It also won Best Screenplay (Aaron Sorkin). It also shared Best Director (David Fincher) with Olivier Assayas (Carlos), and also shared Best Music/Score with The Ghost Writer.

Interestingly, non-American films were well represented in the acting categories, with British Colin Firth winning for The Kings Speech and Kim Hye-Ja winning for Mother. The supporting acting awards went to Niels Arestrup for A Prophet and Animal Kingdom's Jacki Weaver from Australia.

Carlos was declared Best Foreign Language Film, and the Best Documentary prize went to Last Train Home, while Best Animated Film was Toy Story 3.

Complete list of winners for the 2010 Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) Awards

Best Picture The Social Network
Runner-up: Carlos

Best Actor Colin Firth, The Kings Speech
Runner-up: Edgar Ramirez, Carlos

Best Actress Kim Hye-Ja, Mother
Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone

Best Supporting Actor Niels Arestrup, A Prophet
Runner-up: Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech

Best Supporting Actress Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom
Runner-up: Olivia Williams, The Ghost Writer

Best Director
Olivier Assayas, Carlos and David Fincher, The Social Network (tie)

Best Screenplay
The Social Network
Runner-up: The King’s Speech

Best Cinematography
Black Swan
Runner-up: True Grit

New Generation Award
Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture

Best Documentary/Non-fiction Film
Last Train Home
Runner-up: Exit Through The Gift Shop

Best Foreign-Language Film
Runner-up: Mother

Best Animated Film
Toy Story 3
Runner-up: The Illusionist

Best Music/Score
The Ghost Writer and The Social Network (tie)

Best Production Design
Runner-up: The King’s Speech

Douglas E. Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video
Film Socialism

No comments:

Post a Comment