Saturday, December 4, 2010

2010 International Documentary Association (IDA) Documentary Awards - winners announced

On Friday night, the 2010 International Documentary Association (IDA) Documentary Awards were handed out at a ceremony at the Directors Guild of America in Los Angeles. Lucy Walker's Waste Land came away with the big prize, the Feature Documentary Award. It had been up against another art-themed nominee Exit Through The Gift Shop among others. Waste Land also claimed the IDA Pare Lorentz Award which is given in honour of Lorentz's filmmaking legacy to a film that explores "one or more of Lorentz's central concerns – the appropriate use of the natural environment, justice for all and the illumination of pressing social problems." The IDA Pare Lorentz Award prize had been announced earlier in the week.

Other award winners included For Once in My Life which took the IDA Music Documentary Award. Duane Baughman and Johnny O’Hara's excellent film Bhutto won the ABCNews Videosource Award. Presumed Guilty and The Oath tied for the IDA Humanitas Award. The Short Documentary Award was given to Woman Rebel.

IDA's Career Achievement Award was given to multiple Oscar-winner Barbara Kopple. Jeff Malmberg received the Jacqueline Donnet Emerging Filmmaker Award.  The team of Alan Raymond and Susan Raymond received the organization's Pioneer Award, while film professor Mark Jonathan Harris received the IDA Preservation and Scholarship Award,.

The ceremony was hosted by documentarian Morgan Spurlock.

The 2010 IDA Documentary Awards winners

Feature Documentary Award
Waste Land
Director/Writer: Lucy Walker
Producers: Angus Aynsley, Hank Levine

Short Documentary Award
Woman Rebel

Director/Producer: Kiran Deol
Executive Producer: Robert Richter

Continuing Series Award
30 for 30
Executive Producers: Keith Clinkscales, John Dahl, Joan Lynch, Connor Schell, Bill Simmons, John Skipper, John Walsh

Limited Series Award
Have You Heard from Johannesburg

Director/Producer: Connie E Field

IDA Pare Lorentz Award
Waste Land
Director/Writer: Lucy Walker
Producers: Angus Aynsley, Hank Levine
Honorable Mention
Queen of the Sun: What Are the Bees Telling Us?
Director: Taggart Siegel
Producers: Jon Betz, Taggart Siegel

IDA Music Documentary Award
For Once in My Life
Directors: Jim Bigham, Mark Moormann
Producer: Jim Bigham

ABCNews Videosource Award

Director/ Producer: Duane Baughman
Director/ Writer: Johnny O’Hara
Producers: Arleen Sorkin, Mark Siegel

IDA Humanitas Award (tie)
Presumed Guilty
Directors: Roberto Hernandez and Geoffrey Smith
Producers: Layda Negrete, Roberto Hernandez, Martha Sosa, Yissel Ibarra
The Oath
Director/Producer/Director of Photography: Laura Poitras

IDA David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
Waiting for a Train: The Toshio Hirano Story

Director/Producer: Oscar Bucher
Honorable Mention
The Stinking Ship

Director/Producer: Bagassi Koura

Career Achievement Award
Barbara Kopple

Jacqueline Donnet Emerging Filmmaker Award
Jeff Malmberg

Pioneer Award
Alan Raymond & Susan Raymond

Preservation and Scholarship Award
Mark Jonathan Harris

No comments:

Post a Comment