Wednesday, September 16, 2015

TIFF 2015 – Birks Diamond Tribute to the Year’s Women in Film

For the third year in a row, Telefilm Canada and Birks partnered to celebrate Canadian women in film during the Toronto International Film Festival. Nine Canadian women, film directors and actors who made their mark this year were selected by a pan-Canadian jury of arts, culture and entertainment journalists. The event was held at the Shangri-La Hotel in Toronto.

The 2015 honourees were directors Sophie Deraspe; Anne Émond; Patricia Rozema; Kari Skogland; and Ingrid Veninger, as well as actors Katie Boland; Suzanne Clément; Catherine O’Hara; and Karine Vanasse.

The pan-Canadian jury consisted of renowned journalists covering arts, culture and entertainment: Jason Anderson (Cinema Scope), Katie Bailey (Playback), Linda Barnard (Toronto Star), Richard Crouse (Metro), Maxime Demers (Le Journal de Montréal), Manon Dumais (freelance journalist), Noreen Flanagan (Elle Canada), Teri Hart (Entertainment City), Tanya Lapointe (Radio-Canada), Marc-André Lussier (La Presse), Bernadette Mora (Fashion Magazine), Katherine Monk (The Ex-Press), Herby Moreau (, Andrea Nemetz (The Chronicle Herald), Ingrid Randoja (Cineplex Magazine), Kiva Reardon (freelance journalist), Johanna Schneller (The Globe and Mail), Cassandra Szklarski (The Canadian Press) and Odile Tremblay (Le Devoir).

Photos by Allan Tong.

Pictured below, director Deepa Mehta with the cast for her film Beeba Boys.

No comments:

Post a Comment