Thursday, September 17, 2015

Academy presents the 2015 Student Academy Award Winners

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences tonight honored 15 student winners from colleges and universities around the world at the 42nd Student Academy Awards ceremony, held at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards were announced and presented by actors Michelle Rodriguez and Jason Mitchell, Oscar®-winning director John Lasseter, and the Oscar-winning team behind the animated feature Big Hero 6, Roy Conli, Don Hall and Chris Williams.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent by creating opportunities within the industry to showcase their work. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 47 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include Pete Docter, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Trey Parker and Robert Zemeckis

The 2015 Student Academy Award® winners are:

Gold: Chiaroscuro, Daniel Drummond, Chapman University, California
Silver: Zoe, ChiHyun Lee, The School of Visual Arts, New York

Gold: Soar, Alyce Tzue, Academy of Art University, San Francisco
Silver: An Object at Rest, Seth Boyden, California Institute of the Arts
Bronze: Taking the Plunge, Nicholas Manfredi and Elizabeth Ku-Herrero, The School of Visual Arts

Gold: Looking at the Stars, Alexandre Peralta, University of Southern California
Silver: I Married My Family’s Killer, Emily Kassie, Brown University
Bronze: Boxeadora, Meg Smaker, Stanford University

Gold: Day One, Henry Hughes, American Film Institute, California
Silver: This Way Up, Jeremy Cloe, American Film Institute
Bronze: Stealth, Bennett Lasseter, American Film Institute

Foreign Film
Gold: Fidelity, Ilker Çatak, Hamburg Media School, Germany
Silver: The Last Will, Dustin Loose, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany
Bronze: Everything Will Be Okay, Patrick Vollrath, Filmakademie Wien, Austria

No comments:

Post a Comment