Sunday, March 23, 2014

2014 Prism Prize – winners

On Sunday, March 23, director Emily Kai Bock was announced as the winner of the 2014 Prism Prize for Arcade Fire’s Afterlife music video at the Prism Prize Award Reception at The Everleigh in Toronto, Ontario. Emily Kai Bock, who was also nominated for Majical Cloudz’s Childhood’s End this year, was on hand to accept the $5,000.

“Emily made some truly remarkable videos last year,” said Prism Prize Founder and Director Louis Calabro, “it says something that two of Emily’s pieces were on the Top Ten Shortlist. Ultimately, I think our jurors chose Afterlife because it’s thoughtful and well-paced, and because – frankly – it looks beautiful.”

The Prism Prize Audience Choice Award was presented to director Kheaven Lewandowski for The Belle Game’s River, based on thousands of online votes collected in collaboration with Exclaim! Magazine.

“I expect really big things from Kheaven in the future.” said Louis Calabro, “The Belle Game’s song is so resonant on its own, but Kheaven found a way to dress it up and connect sound with image in this stylish, and cleverly arranged short narrative. And clearly the fans agree; this video got about 30% of the votes!”

Also honoured during the Prism Prize Award Reception were Writer/Director Scott Cudmore and Producer/Cinematographer Michael Leblanc, who were in attendance to accept the inaugural Arthur Lipsett Award, established to recognize an innovative and unique approach to music video art. The inaugural Prism Prize Special Achievement Award, presented to a Canadian music video artist for their artistic achievements and exceptional contribution to music video art on a world stage, was awarded to Floria Sigismondi, who provided a taped acceptance speech as she was unable to attend in person.

Founded in 2012, The Prism Prize is a national, juried award recognizing the artistry of the modern music video in Canada. A jury of more than 100 Canadian music and film industry professionals – including members of the print and web media, broadcasting, film, radio, and video art communities – nominate the 10 best videos of the year to comprise the Prism Prize shortlist. The Prism Prize is awarded based on artistic merit, as jurors are asked to consider originality, creativity, style, innovation and effective execution when selecting the best video of the year.

Complete list of nominations for the 2nd Annual Prism Prize

Arcade Fire - Afterlife (director Emily Kai Bock)
The Belle Game – River (director Kheaven Lewandowski)
Jessy Lanza – Kathy Lee (director Lee Skinner)
Keys N Krates – Dum Dee Dum (director Amos LeBlanc)
Drake – Started from the Bottom (director Director X)
Shad – Fam Jam (Fe Sum Immigrins) (director Che Kothari)
Hollerado – So It Goes (director Marc Ricciardelli)
Majical Cloudz – Childhood’s End (director Emily Kai Bock)
Arcade Fire – Reflektor (director Anton Corbijn)
Young Galaxy – New Summer (director Ivan Grbovic)

ARCADE FIRE - AFTERLIFE from Emily Kai Bock on Vimeo.

The Belle Game - "River" from Kheaven Lewandowski on Vimeo.

No comments:

Post a Comment