Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Call for submissions: 2012 Don Haig Award

2012 Don Haig Award
Presented by documentary

Throughout his life, Don Haig gave generously to filmmakers he believed in. He contributed his time, knowledge and resources to helping filmmakers nurture their talents.

The Don Haig Award is presented annually to a Canadian documentary filmmaker whose past work shows a unique voice and talent and who can demonstrate the impact that the prize money would have on their current projects and career. The winner will receive a $20,000 cash prize generously sponsored by documentary.

"The Don Haig Award was founded in 2002 by a group of very dedicated colleagues and friends in the film industry in order to perpetuate Don's legacy in assisting independent filmmakers," says Bill Schultz, honourary chair of the Award Steering Committee and Don Haig's life partner. "Don's first love has always been documentary, and he dedicated his life to it."

Documentary filmmakers from across Canada are eligible to submit an application for consideration by the jury, which will consist of representatives from the Don Haig Award Committee, documentary, Hot Docs and a past recipient of the Don Haig Award. The group will collectively select the recipient.

The Don Haig Award is presented annually as part of the Hot Docs Awards Presentation. In 2010, the Don Haig Award was presented to 65_REDROSES co-directors Philip Lyall and Nimisha Mukerji. In 2009, the Don Haig Award was presented to Montreal filmmaker Brett Gaylor, and the Special Jury Prize was awarded to Mohawk filmmaker Tracey Deer. In 2008, the Don Haig Award was presented to UP THE YANGTZE filmmaker Yung Chang. In 2007, the recipient was Toronto-based filmmaker Hubert Davis, director of the Academy Award-nominated short film HARDWOOD.

"We’ve had outstanding support for Don’s vision and stellar winners of the award since its inception," says committee chair Joan Schafer.

Application Deadline: Friday, January 27, 2012

Application packages must include six copies of the following materials:
• Two documentary films (DVD format, broadcast or theatrical) where the filmmaker had creative control. Film school projects are not eligible.
• A current CV, including any documentary broadcast credits or film festival credits.
• A short 1 paragraph biography of the filmmaker.
• A one-page letter stating why the filmmaker feels they should be considered for the Award.
• Three written references from professionals in the film and television community.

Additional Information:
• Co-directors are eligible to apply if they meet established criteria
• The Award is specifically for Directors or Director/Producers

Please mail or courier your COMPLETE package to arrive NO LATER than Friday January 27,
2012 at 5pm to:
The Don Haig Foundation & Hot Docs
Attention: Henry Stevenson, Sponsorship Marketing Coordinator
110 Spadina Ave. Suite 333
Toronto, ON M5V 2K4

Incomplete applications or applications received after the deadline will not be eligible. Applications not submitted by mail or courier will not be accepted.

For more information on the nominations process or award criteria please contact Joan Schafer at The Don Haig Foundation, or Jenn Hobbs, Associate Director, Sponsorship Marketing

No comments:

Post a Comment