Friday, December 16, 2011

2011 Prix Louis-Delluc - winners

The jury for the Prix Louis-Delluc announced their winners for their 69th edition of the awards at a ceremony held at Fouquet's in Paris.

The main Prix Louis-Delluc was given to Le Havre by Finnish auteur Aki Kaurismäki. It is Finland's submission to the Academy for consideration for the Best Foreign Language Film category. Le Havre won out over competitors such as Valérie Donzelli's La Guerre est déclarée (Declaration of War), Bertrand Bonello's L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de maison close) (House of Tolerance), Pierre Schoeller's L'Exercice de l'Etat (The Minister), and current awards-season favourite The Artist by Michel Hazanavicius.

The Prix Louis-Delluc for Debut Film went to Djinn Carrenard's Donoma. The film was reportedly made for a mere €150 ($200).

The Prix Louis-Delluc is named after filmmaker and writer Louis Delluc and is awarded by a jury of 20 film critics and cultural personalities to their choice of the best French film of the year. The jury president is Gilles Jacob, also the president of Festival de Cannes.

The Académie des arts et techniques du cinéma will present the 37th César Awards on February 24, 2012, at Chatelet Theatre in Paris. The host will be director Guillaume Canet.

Click here for 2011 Louis-Delluc nominees

No comments:

Post a Comment