Monday, October 18, 2010

The 2010 Gotham Independent Film Awards - nominations announced

Awards season kicked off on Monday, October 18 with the announcement by Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) of the nominations for the 20th anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards, given for smaller-budget, independently distributed features from American-born or American-based filmmakers. Debra Granik’s Winter’s Bone led the nominations with three for best feature, best ensemble and breakthrough actor Jennifer Lawrence. It was an indie hit about a girl from the Ozark Mountains searching for her father. It's three nominations were the same three that The Hurt Locker received last year to kick off its successful awards season that culminated in key victories at the Academy Awards.

Also nominated for best feature were Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan, Derek Cianfrance’s Blue Valentine, Lisa Cholodenko’s The Kids Are All Right, and Matt Reeves’ Let Me In. The nominees for best documentary were 12th & Delaware, Inside Job, The Oath, Public Speaking and Sweetgrass. In addition to these six competitive categories, IFP previously announced honorary awards for filmmaker Darren Aronofsky, actors Hilary Swank and Robert Duvall, and Focus Features CEO James Schamus. The winners will be announced Monday, November 29th at Cipriani Wall Street, in New York City.

The nominees for the 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards:

Best Feature
Black Swan, Darren Aronofsky, director
Blue Valentine, Derek Cianfrance, director
The Kids Are All Right, Lisa Cholodenko, director
Let Me In, Matt Reeves, director
Winter’s Bone, Debra Granik, director

Best Documentary
12th & Delaware, Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady, directors
Inside Job, Charles Ferguson, director
The Oath, Laura Poitras, director
Public Speaking, Martin Scorsese, director
Sweetgrass, Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Ilisa Barbash, directors

Best Ensemble Performance
The Kids Are All Right, Annette Bening, Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, Mia Wasikowska, Josh Hutcherson
Life During Wartime, Shirley Henderson, Ciarán Hinds, Allison Janney, Michael Lerner, Chris Marquette, Rich Pecci, Charlotte Rampling, Paul Reubens, Ally Sheedy, Dylan Riley Snyder, Renée Taylor, Michael Kenneth Williams
Please Give, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Rebecca Hall, Ann Guilbert, Lois Smith, Sarah Steele, Thomas Ian Nicholas
Tiny Furniture, Lena Dunham, Laurie Simmons, Grace Dunham, Rachel Howe, Merritt Wever, Amy Seimetz, Alex Karpovsky, David Call,  Jemima Kirke, Sarah Sophie Flicker, Garland Hunter, Isen Hunter
Winter’s Bone, Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Kevin Breznahan

Breakthrough Director
John Wells, for The Company Men
Kevin Asch, for Holy Rollers
Glenn Ficarra and John Requa, for I Love You Phillip Morris
Tanya Hamilton, for Night Catches Us
Lena Dunham, for Tiny Furniture

Breakthrough Actor
Prince Adu, in Prince of Broadway
Ronald Bronstein, in Daddy Longlegs
Greta Gerwig, in Greenberg 
Jennifer Lawrence, in Winter’s Bone 
John Ortiz, in Jack Goes Boating

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You
Kati with an i, Robert Greene, director
Littlerock, Mike Ott, director
On Coal River, Francine Cavanaugh and Adams Wood, directors
Summer Pasture, Lynn True and Nelson Walker, directors
The Wolf Knife, Laurel Nakadate, director

No comments:

Post a Comment