Monday, February 15, 2010

Awards News: Spain's Goya Awards and the ACE Eddie Awards

The 2010 Awards season continued its march on Valentine's Day, with ceremonies on both sides of the Atlantic.

In Spain, Daniel Monzon's prison drama Cell 211 won eight prizes at the 24th Goya Awards ceremony including the award for Best Picture. The film Agora followed closely with seven awards, leaning more towards the technical categories. Penelope Cruz showed up with her partner Javier Bardem , but the big surprise was Pedro Almodovar showing up to present the award for Best Picture. He previously had a falling out with the Spanish Film Academy and resigned from the academy in 2005. On returning, he received a standing ovation from the audience.

Meanwhile in Hollywood, The Hurt Locker continues to roll along and accumulate awards and acclaim. At the 60th annual American Cinema Editors’ (ACE) Eddie Awards on Sunday night at the Beverly Hilton, it triumphed yet again over Avatar for the award for Best Edited Feature (Dramatic). Other big winners in the film categories were The Hangover (Comedy or Musical), Up (Animation) and The Cove (Documentary). This victory for The Hurt Locker comes after having beaten Avatar in other head-to-head contests including the Directors Guild (DGA) and Producers Guild (PGA) Awards.

The following are the complete lists of winners for both awards presentations.


Complete list of American Cinema Editors’ Eddie Awards winners


Best Edited Feature (Dramatic)
The Hurt Locker (Bob Murawski, Chris Innis)

Best Edited Feature (Comedy or Musical)
The Hangover (Deborah Neil-Fisher)

Best Edited Animated Feature Film
Up (Kevin Nolting)

Best Edited Documentary
The Cove (Geoffrey Richman)

Half-hour series for television
“30 Rock”: “Apollo Apollo," 
Ken Eluto

One-hour series for commercial television
“Breaking Bad”: "ABQ"
Lynne Willingham
One-hour series for non-commercial television
Dexter: "Living the Dream," 
Stewart Schill

Miniseries or motion picture for television
“Grey Gardens
,” Alan Heim, A.C.E. and Lee Percy

Reality series
“The Deadliest Catch: Stay Focused Or Die,” 
Kelly Coskran and Josh Earl
Career achievement awards
Neil Travis, Paul LaMastra

Golden Eddie award
Rob Reiner

Complete list of winners for the Goya Awards

Cell 211, Telecinco Cineam, Vaca Films, Morena Films

Daniel Monzon, Cell 211

New Director
Mar Coll, Three Days with the Family

Original Screenplay
Alejandro Amenabar and Mateo Gil, Agora

Adapted Screenplay
Jorge Gerricaechevarria and Daniel Monzon, Cell 211

Original Music
Alberto Iglesias, Broken Embraces

Original Song
"Yo Tambien" from Me Too by Guille Milkyway

Luis Tosar, Cell 211

Lola Duenas, Me Too

Supporting Actor
Raul Arevalo, Gordos

Supporting Actress
Marta Etura, Cell 211

New Actor
Alberto Amman, Cell 211

New Actress
Soledad Villamil, The Secret in Their Eyes

Production Design
Jose Luis Escolar, Agora

Xavi Gimenez, Agora

Mapa Pastor, Cell 211

Art Director
Guy Hendrix Dyas, Agora

Gabriella Pescucci, Agora

Makeup and Hair
Jan Sewell and Suzanne Stokes-Munton, Agora

Sergio Burmann, Jaime Fernandez and Carlos Faruolo, Cell 211

Special Effects
Chris Reynolds and Felix Berges, Agora

Animated Film
Planet 51 from Ilion Studios, HandMade Films, Chuck&Lem and Antena 3 Film

Garbo, el hombre que salvo el mundo from Ikiru Films, Centuria Films Colose Producciones and Televisio de Catalunya

Hispano-American Film
The Secret in their Eyes, directed by Juan Jose Campanella

European Film
Slumdog Millionaire, directed by Danny Boyle

Fiction Short
"Dime que yo," directed by Mateo Gil

Documentary Short
"Flores de Ruanda," directed by David Munoz Lopez

Animated Short
"La Dama y La Muerte," directed by Javier Recia Gracia

Honorary Goya
Antonio Mercero

No comments:

Post a Comment