Sunday, February 7, 2010

Annie Awards Best Picture Award goes to Up; Scripter Award goes to Up in the Air

It was a good night to be "up" last night. Up won Best Picture Award at the Annie Awards, the awards for animated films. The comedy/drama Up in the Air won the USC Libraries Scripter Award given to "the year's best book-to-film adaptation." Both ceremonies took place on the night of Saturday, February 6, 2010.

The Annie Awards were hosted by William Shatner at UCLA's Royce Hall. Up won two of its nine nominations, in the big categories of Best Feature and Best Director. Coraline led with 10 nominations and won three, for character design, music and production design. The Princess and the Frog also won three (out of 8 nominations) for animated effects, character animation and voice acting. The awards are presented by ASIFA-Hollywood, the Los Angeles branch of the International Animated Film Society. A complete list of award winners follows.

Presented at the University of Southern California’s Doheny Library, the USC Libraries Scripter Award went to Up in the Air author Walter Kirn and screenwriters Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner. Also in the running were screenwriter Scott Cooper and author Thomas Cobb for Crazy Heart; screenwriters Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell for District 9, adapted from Blomkamp’s screenplay for the short film Alive in Joburg; screenwriter Nick Hornby and author Lynn Barber for An Education; and for Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire, screenwriter Geoffrey Fletcher and "Push" author Sapphire. The Scripters also presented screenwriter Eric Roth, adapter of Forrest Gump and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, with the Scripter Literary Achievement Award for his "sustained contributions to the art of film adaptation."


A complete list of winners at the Annie Awards


Best Animated Feature

Directing in a Feature Production
Pete Docter, Up

Animated Effects
James Mansfield, The Princess and the Frog

Character Animation in a Feature Production
Eric Goldberg, The Princess and the Frog

Character Design in a Feature Production
Shane Prigmore, Coraline

Music in a Feature Production
Bruno Coulais, Coraline

Production Design in a Feature Production
Tadahiro Uesugi, Coraline

Storyboarding in a Feature Production
Tom Owens, Monsters vs. Aliens

Voice Acting in a Feature Production
Jen Cody - Voice of Charlotte - The Princess and the Frog

Writing in a Feature Production
Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, Fantastic Mr. Fox

Best Animated Short Subject
"Robot Chicken: Star Wars 2.5"

Best Animated Television Production
"Prep and Landing"

Directing in a Television Production
Bret Haaland, “The Penguins of Madagascar - Launchtime”

Best Animated Television Production for Children
"The Penguins of Madagascar"

Character Animation in a Television Production
Phillip To, “Monsters vs. Aliens: Mutant Pumpkins from Outer Space”

Character Design in a Television Production
Bill Schwab, “Prep and Landing”

Music in a Television Production
Guy Moon, “The Fairly OddParents: “Wishology-The Big Beginning”

Production Design in a Television Production
Andy Harkness, “Prep and Landing”

Storyboarding in a Television Production
Robert Koo, “Merry Madagascar”

Voice Acting in a Television Production
Tom Kenny - Voice of SpongeBob - “SpongeBob SquarePants — Truth or Square”

Best Animated Television Commercial
Spanish Lottery “Deportees”

Best Home Entertainment Production
"Futurama: Into the Wild Green Yonder"


Winsor McCay Award — Tim Burton, Bruce Timm, Jeffrey Katzenberg

June Foray — Tom Sito

Ub Iwerks Award — William T. Reeves

Special Achievement — Martin Meunier and Brian McLean

Certificate of Merit — Myles Mikulic, Danny Young and Michael Woodside

No comments:

Post a Comment