Sunday, February 28, 2016

88th annual Academy Awards – winners [UPDATING LIVE]

The 88th Academy Awards took place tonight at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood. It was hosted by comedian Chris Rock, who joked that the Oscars were "the White People’s Choice Awards." His opening monologue was quite funny, and dealt primarily with the controversy surrounding the Oscars' lack of diversity.

The big surprise winner of the night was Tom McCarthy's Spotlight, the journalistic drama about the investigation of the Catholic Church abuse scandal in Boston. It won the first award of the night for Best Original Screenplay, but then didn't win another award until the final award of the night for Best Picture. It had been nominated for a total of 6 awards including the Supporting Actor and Supporting Actress (Mark Ruffalo, Rachel McAdams respectively), as well as Best Director and Best Editing.

The presumed favourite, Alejandro G. Iñárritu The Revenant did pick up wins for Best Actor Leonardo DiCaprio (finally!), Alejandro G. Iñárritu for Best Director for the second year in a row (only the third director to win back-to-back after John Ford and Joseph L. Mankiewicz), and Best Cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki for the third year in a row (after Birdman and Gravity).

The most awards on the night went to Mad Max: Fury Road, which swept the below-the-line categories. It won for Editing and both of the sound categories, plus the design categories of Production Design, Costume Design and Makeup/Hairstyling.

Many films with multiple nominations ended up going home empty-handed including Carol, The Martian, Brooklyn and Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Nominations for the 88th Academy Awards

List of winners for the 88th annual Academy Awards

Best motion picture of the year
Spotlight (Open Road Films) (An Anonymous Content/Participant Media/Rocklin/Faust/First Look Media Production) Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin and Blye Pagon Faust, Producers

Performance by an actor in a leading role
Leonardo DiCaprio in The Revenant (20th Century Fox)

Performance by an actress in a leading role
Brie Larson in Room (A24)

Achievement in directing
The Revenant (20th Century Fox) Alejandro G. Iñárritu

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song)
“Writing’s On The Wall” from Spectre (Sony Pictures Releasing) Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)
The Hateful Eight (The Weinstein Company) Ennio Morricone

Best foreign language film of the year
Son of Saul, A Laokoon Filmgroup Production, Hungary

Best live action short film
Stutterer (A Bare Golly Films Production) Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage

Best documentary feature
Amy (A24) (An On the Corner Films Production) Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees

Best documentary short subject
A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness (An SOC Films Production) Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

Performance by an actor in a supporting role
Mark Rylance in Bridge of Spies (Walt Disney and 20th Century Fox)

Best animated feature film of the year
Inside Out (Walt Disney) Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera

Best animated short film
Bear Story (A Punkrobot Animation Studio Production) Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala

Achievement in visual effects
Ex Machina (A24) Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett

Achievement in sound mixing
Mad Max: Fury Road (Warner Bros.) Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo

Achievement in sound editing
Mad Max: Fury Road (Warner Bros.) Mark Mangini and David White

Achievement in film editing
Mad Max: Fury Road (Warner Bros.) Margaret Sixel

Achievement in cinematography
The Revenant (20th Century Fox) Emmanuel Lubezki

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling
Mad Max: Fury Road (Warner Bros.) Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin

Achievement in production design
Mad Max: Fury Road (Warner Bros.) Production Design: Colin Gibson; Set Decoration: Lisa Thompson

Achievement in costume design
Mad Max: Fury Road (Warner Bros.) Jenny Beavan

Performance by an actress in a supporting role
Alicia Vikander in The Danish Girl (Focus Features)

Adapted screenplay
The Big Short (Paramount) Screenplay by Charles Randolph and Adam McKay

Original screenplay
Spotlight (Open Road Films) Written by Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy

No comments:

Post a Comment