Thursday, March 14, 2013

2013 Rwanda Movie Awards – winners

The inaugural Rwanda Movie Awards took place in the Banquet Hall at Kigali Serena Hotel in a ceremony hosted by Radio Rwanda presenter Tidjara Kabendera. Winners were selected by jury, except for some popular awards selected by online voting. The ceremony was a lengthy affair, lasting three-and-a-half hours even though only 10 awards were presented.

The winner for Best Film Documentary was The Impact of a Cow Given to the People of Rwanda by Ishmael Ntihabose. Ntihabose was the executive producer and co-writer of the Sundance award-winning film Kinyarwanda.

The Best Short Film was Kivuto while the People's Choice for Best Movie was Ibanga.

Complete winners for the inaugural Rwanda Movie Awards

Best Film Documentary
The Impact of a Cow Given to the People of Rwanda by Ishmael Ntihabose

Best Short Film

Best Actor
Munanura Habyalare

Best Actress
Fidelite Irakoze Sonia

Best Director
Muniru Habyakare

Upcoming group/Dynamic Award
Happiness Games

People's Choice Actor
Denis Nsanzabaganwa

People's Choice Actress
Marie France Niragire

People's Choice Movie

Best Young Actress
Esther Ngabire

No comments:

Post a Comment