Tuesday, March 12, 2013

2013 KFCA's Atlas Film Awards – winners

Yesterday, the Kerala Film Critics Association announced the winners for their 2013 KFCA Awards or Atlas Film Awards for the best of the Malayalam-language film industry (Mollywood).

Kamal's controversial portrait of the "father of Malayalam cinema" J. C. Daniel Celluloid dominated the awards with seven prizes. Not only did it win Best Film, but its wins also included Best Director, Best Supporting Actress (Mamtha Mohandas) and Best Music Director.

Madhupal's Ozhimuri was next with four awards. The film about the loss of the matrilineal system in the 1940s ("Ozhimuri" means "divorce record") was named Second Best Film and captured the top acting prizes for Lal and Swetha Menon (who was also recognized for her work in Ithramathram).

The producer of the Best Film receives a cash award of Rs 1 lakh in addition to a memento and citation. The Best Director, Actor and Actress receives cash prizes of Rs 25,000 each plus a memento and citation. Supporting acting winners are given cash awards of Rs 10,000 each.

Nedumudi Venu was presented with the Chalachithra Ratna Award for his comprehensive contributions to Malayalam cinema. The film composer Jerry Amaldev and the actors Jayabharathi and Poojappura Ravi were presented with Chalachithra Prathibha Awards for commendable service to the film industry.

Complete list of winners for the 2013 Kerala Film Critics Association Awards

Best Film
Celluloid, Kamal

Second Best Film
Ozhimuri, Madhupal

Best Director
Kamal, Celluloid

Best Actor - Male
Lal, Ozhimuri

Best Actor - Female
Swetha Menon, Ozhimuri and Ithramathram

Best Supporting Actor - Male
Vineeth, Attakatha and Bavoottiyude Namathil

Best Supporting Actor - Female
Mamtha Mohandas, Celluloid and My Boss

Best Debut Artist - Male
Dikhar Salman, Usthad Hotel

Best Debut Artist - Female
Malavika Menon, 916

Best Child Artist
Master Dhanamjay Premjith, Pratheekshayode
Master Minon, 101 Questions

Best Debut Director
Jayan Cheriyan, Pappilio Budha

Best Art Direction
Suresh Kollam, Celluloid

Best Cinematographer
Azhakappan, Ozhimuri

Best Editor
Arun Kumar Aravind, Ee Adutha Kaalathu

Best Sound Recordist
Ajith K. George

Best Music Director
M. Jayachandran, Celluloid

Best Lyricist
Vayalar Sarathchandravarma, Ayalum Njanum Thammil

Best Playback Singer - Male
Sreeram, Celluloid

Best Playback Singer - Female
Vaikom Vijayalakshmi, Celluloid

Best Popular Film
Ayalum Njanum Thammil, Lal Jose

Best Article on Cinema
A. Chandrasekhar, Yuvathwam Thedunna Chalachitra Bhavukathwam

Special Jury Award
Bheeman Raghu

Chalachithra Ratna Award
Nedumudi Venu

Chalachithra Prathiba Award
Jerry Amaldev
Poojappura Ravi

No comments:

Post a Comment