Monday, December 17, 2012

Satellite Awards 2012 – winners

The International Press Academy held a gala ceremony at the InterContinental in Century City, California for their 17th annual Satellite Awards.

The big winner of the night was David O. Russell's Silver Linings Playbook. It took five awards total, including the top prizes of Best Motion Picture and Best Director. It also won Best Actress (Jennifer Lawrence), Best Actor (Bradley Cooper) and Best Editing.

Tom Hooper's musical Les Misérables had led with ten nominations, plus the pre-announced Best Ensemble Award. In addition to Best Ensemble, it won for Best Supporting Actress (Anne Hathaway), song and sound.

Ang Lee's Life of Pi won for Best Screenplay and Cinemtography. The previous awards juggernaughts Zero Dark Thirty and Lincoln only managed one award each. Zero Dark Thirty won for Original Screenplay, while Lincoln won for Art Direction.

Previously announced Honourary Awards were presented to actor Terence Stamp, singer/songwriter Paul Williams, editor Walter Murch and Bruce Davison.

Nominations for the 17th Annual Satellite Awards

Complete list of winners for the 17th Annual Satellite Awards

Motion Picture
Silver Linings Playbook

David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Actress in a Motion Picture
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Actor in a Motion Picture
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook

Actress in a Supporting Role
Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables

Actor in a Supporting Role
Javier Bardem, Skyfall

Motion Picture, International Film (TIE)
The Intouchables, France
Pieta, South Korea

Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media
Rise of the Guardians

Motion Picture, Documentary
Chasing Ice

Screenplay, Original
Mark Boal, Zero Dark Thirty

Screenplay, Adapted
David Magee, Life of Pi (Based on the novel by Yann Martel)

Original Score
Alexandre Desplat, Argo

Original Song
Suddenly, Hugh Jackman; Alain Boublil, Herbert Kretzmer, Les Misérables

Claudio Miranda, Life of Pi

Visual Effects
Michael Lantieri, Kevin Baillie, Ryan Tudhope, Jim Gibbs, Flight

Film Editing
Jay Cassidy, Silver Linings Playbook

Sound (Editing and Mixing)
John Warhurst, Lee Walpole, Simon Hayes, Les Misérables

Art Direction & Production Design
Rick Carter, Curt Beech, David Crank, Leslie Mcdonald, Lincoln

Costume Design
Manon Rasmussen, A Royal Affair


Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television
Hatfields & Mccoys

Actress in a Miniseries or a Motion Picture Made for Television
Julianne Moore Game Change

Actor in a Miniseries or a Motion Picture Made for Television
Benedict Cumberbatch Sherlock

Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television
Maggie Smith Downton Abbey

Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television
Neal Mcdonough Justified

Television Series, Drama

Television Series, Genre
Walking Dead

Actress in a Series, Drama
Claire Danes Homeland

Actor in a Series, Drama
Damian Lewis Homeland

Television Series, Comedy or Musical
The Big Bang Theory

Actress in a Series, Comedy or Musical
Kaley Cuoco The Bang Big Theory

Actor in a Series, Comedy or Musical
Johnny Galecki The Big Bang Theory


Mary Pickford Award for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to the Entertainment Industry
Terence Stamp

Nikola Tesla Award in Recognition of Visionary Achievements in Filmmaking Technology
Walter Murch

Auteur Award
Paul Williams

Honorary Satellite Award
Bruce Davison

Newcomer Award
Quvenzhane Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Ensemble, Motion Picture
Les Misérables

Best Ensemble, Television
Walking Dead

No comments:

Post a Comment