Monday, December 3, 2012

2012 New York Film Critics’ Circle Awards – winners

The New York Film Critics’ Circle announced their 78th NYFCC Awards this afternoon.

Zero Dark Thirty earned the top prizes. It won Best Film and Kathryn Bigelow claimed Best Director for the second time after winning in 2009 for The Hurt Locker. The film was also the winner for Best Cinematography.

The other three-time winner was Stephen Spielberg's Lincoln. It won Best Screenplay, Actor (Daniel Day-Lewis) and Supporting Actress (Sally Field). It was Day-Lewis' fifth win at the NYFCC Awards, while Sally Field previously won for Norma Rae.

Last year's top prize-winner for the 2011 NYFCC Awards was the eventual Oscar-winner The Artist.

Complete list of winners for the 78th New York Film Critics’ Circle Awards

Best Film
Zero Dark Thirty
Runners-up: Argo and The Master

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty
Runners-up: Paul Thomas Anderson - The Master; and Ben Affleck - Argo

Best Screenplay
Tony Kushner, Lincoln
Runners-up: Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola - Moonrise Kingdom; and Mark Boal - Zero Dark Thirty

Best Actress
Rachel Weisz, The Deep Blue Sea
Runners-up: Jennifer Lawrence - The Hunger Games and Silver Linings Playbook; Emmanuelle Riva - Amour; and Jessica Chastain - Zero Dark Thirty

Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
Runners-up: Jack Black - Bernie, Joaquin Phoenix - The Master and Denis Lavant - Holy Motors

Best Supporting Actress
Sally Field, Lincoln
Runner-up: Anne Hathaway - The Dark Knight Rises and Les Misérables

Best Supporting Actor
Matthew McConaughey, Bernie and Magic Mike
Runners-up: Christoph Waltz - Django Unchained and Tommy Lee Jones - Lincoln

Best Cinematography
Greig Fraser, Zero Dark Thirty
Runner-up: Mihai Malăimare Jr. - The Master

Best Non-Fiction Film
Central Park Five, Ken Burns, Sarah Burns and David McMahon
Runners-up: The Gatekeepers and This Is Not a Film

Best Foreign Language Film
Amour, Michael Haneke
Runners-up: Holy Motors; and Once Upon a Time in Anatolia (Bir Zamanlar Anadolu'da)

Best Animated Feature
Frankenweenie, Tim Burton
Runners-up: Brave and ParaNorman

Best First Feature
How To Survive a Plague, David France
Runner-up: Benh Zeitlin - Beasts of the Southern Wild

NYFCC membership
Current Chair: Joshua Rothkopf, Time Out New York
Thelma Adams: Yahoo! Movies
John Anderson: Variety, Newsday
Melissa Anderson: The Village Voice
Michael Atkinson: The Village Voice
Dwight Brown: NNPA Syndication
Richard Corliss: Time
David Denby: The New Yorker
Karen Durbin: Elle Magazine
Bilge Ebiri: New York Magazine
David Edelstein: New York Magazine
David Fear: Time Out New York
Marshall Fine: Star Magazine, Huffington Post
Owen Gleiberman: Entertainment Weekly
Jim Hoberman: Freelance
Stuart Klawans: The Nation
Lou Lumenick: The New York Post
Joe Morgenstern: The Wall Street Journal
Vincent Musetto: Freelance
Joe Neumaier: The New York Daily News
Andrew O’Hehir:
Nick Pinkerton: The Village Voice
Peter Rainer: Christian Science Monitor
Rex Reed: New York Observer
Richard Schickel:
Lisa Schwarzbaum: Entertainment Weekly
Kyle Smith: The New York Post
Dana Stevens:
Amy Taubin: Artforum
Peter Travers: Rolling Stone
Keith Uhlich: Time Out New York
Elizabeth Weitzman: The New York Daily News
Armond White: New York Press
Stephen Whitty: The Star-Ledger/Newhouse Newspapers
Stephanie Zacharek: NPR,

No comments:

Post a Comment